Loading Events
Now Playing

Plastic Paper: FANTASTIC PLANET w/ live score by LES JUPES!

THU, OCT 30 / 9 pm (w/ live score)
SUN, NOV 2 / 4 pm (w/ original score)
Dir. Rene Laloux | France 1973 | 72min. | Animated Science-Fiction

With live score by Les Jupes!

(also playing Sunday Nov 2 at 4:00pm with original score)

Based on French science fiction novelist Stefan Wul’s “Oms en Serie” (“Oms by the Dozen”), René Laloux’s FANTASTIC PLANET paints an animated tale of humans kept as domesticated pets by an alien race of blue humanoid giants called Traags. The story takes place on the Traags’ planet Ygam, where we follow our narrator, an Om called Terr, from infancy to adulthood, when he escapes his subjugation with a Traag learning device with which to educate the savage Oms and incite them to revolt.

As a French-Czech coproduction, this story had much resonance for its makers as an allegory of Czechoslovakia’s invasion by Soviet troops in the late ’60s, and had to be completed in Paris due to political pressure. The animation technique utilized by visionary artist Roland Topor – moving paper cutouts across backgrounds – contributes to the overall feeling of other-worldliness. The film won the Grand Prix at the Cannes Film Festival in 1973. (Jim Gay)

« August 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
Wed 21

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Wed 21

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Wed 21

2019 WFG Summer Teen Filmmaking Camp

Session 2: Mon Aug 12 to Fri Aug 23 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge
Wed 21

Gimme Some Truth presents: Shella Record – A Reggae Mystery

Wed, Aug 21 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 22 / 9:30 pm
Fri, Aug 23 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 24 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Aug 25 / 7 pm
Wed, Aug 28 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 31 / 9 pm
Wed 21

Be Natural: The Untold Story of Alice Guy-Blaché

Wed, Aug 14 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Aug 15 & 16 / 9:15 pm
Sat, Aug 17 / 5 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun Aug 18 / 3 pm
Wed, Aug 21 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact