Loading Events
Now Playing

Nothing Like a Dame

Wed, May 8 / 7 pm
Fri, May 10 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, May 11 & 12 / 3 pm & 7:30 pm
Sat, May 18 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Directed by Roger Michell
2018, UK, 84 min

What happens when four legends of British stage and screen get together? Dame Maggie Smith, Dame Judi Dench, Dame Eileen Atkins, and Dame Joan Plowright are among the most celebrated actresses of our time, with scores of iconic performances, decades of wisdom, and innumerable Oscars, Tonys, Emmys, and BAFTAs between them. They are also longtime friends who hereby invite you to join them for a weekend in the country as they catch up with one another, reminisce, and share their candid, delightfully irreverent thoughts on everything from art to aging, to love, to a life lived in the spotlight.

Reviews

They are in their seventh decade of cutting-edge, epoch-defining performances on stage and on screen. Funny, smart, sharp, competitive, tearful, hilarious, savage, clever, caustic, cool, gorgeous, poignant, irreverent, iconic, old... and unbelievably young. Don't miss it.
– BBC
« October 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Thu 24

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Thu 24

Aurora Gorealis: My Bloody Valentine

Thu, Oct 17 / 7 pm
Thu, Oct 24 / 7 pm
Thu, Oct 31 / 9 pm
Thu 24

Barbara Rubin and the Exploding NY Underground

Thu, Oct 24 / 9 pm
Sat, Oct 26 / 9 pm
Sun, Oct 27 / 7 pm
Wed, Oct 30 / 9 pm

Fri 25

Buddy

Sat, Oct 19 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Oct 20 / 5 pm
Fri, Oct 25 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Oct 26 & 27 / 5 pm
Wed & Thu, Oct 30 & 31 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact