Loading Events
Now Playing

NOTFILM

Fri, Nov 18 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Nov 19 & 20 / 3 pm
Directed by Ross Lipman
2015, USA, 130 min

NOTFILM is a treasure hunt by filmmaker/restoration archivist Ross Lippman to uncover stories behind the making of a short avant garde film entitled FILM, the only collaboration between legendary playwright Samuel Beckett and silent comic genius Buster Keaton. The collaborative film they made along with director Alan Schneider, renegade publisher of Grove Press Barney Rosset, and Academy Award-winning cinematographer (On The Waterfront) Boris Kaufman, has been the subject of praise, condemnation, and controversy for decades. Lippman went on a seven-year-long global search and discovered both the outtakes of FILM including the long-lost prologue and the only prolonged recording ever of Beckett discussing the creation of his work.  These are the kind of finds that archivists and scholars wish for at least once in their lifetime.

Sponsored by the Department of English, University of Winnipeg 

dept_of_english_logo-2-for-sponsorship-of-notfilm

Reviews

You had best put his movie NOTFILM on your must-see list. That is, if you have any reverence for Buster Keaton, Samuel Beckett, cinema history and the artistic and filmmaking processes.
– James van Maanen, TrustMovies.com
  NOTFILM is one of the most delightful, thoroughgoing and ingenious pieces of archival filmmaking to hit the screen in recent years.
- Liza Bear, Bomb  
« May 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Wed 23

Loveless (Nelyubov)

Wed & Thu, May 23 & 24 / 7 pm
Sat, May 26 / 6 pm
Sun, May 27 / 3 pm
Wed, May 30 / 7 pm
Fri, Jun 1 / 7 pm
Wed, Jun 6 / 7 pm
Thu 24

The Young Karl Marx

Fri, May 18 / 9 pm
Sat, May 19 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, May 20 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Thu, May 24 / 9:30 pm
Fri, May 25 / 7 pm
Sat, May 26 / 3 pm
Fri 25

Star Robot: Back to the Markus

Fri, May 25 / 9:15 pm
Sat 26

Boom for Real: The Late Teenage Years of Jean-Michel Basquiat

Thu, May 17 / 9 pm
Sat, May 19 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sun, May 20 / 5:15 pm
Sat, May 26 / 9 pm
Sun, May 27 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, May 31 & Jun 1 / 9:15 pm
Mon 28

WIDC SHARING AUTHENTIC VOICES: The Confidence Continuum

Monday, May 28, 2018 | Winnipeg Cinematheque,100 Arthur St, Winnipeg, MB | 5:30 pm to 8:30 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact