Loading Events
Now Playing

National Canadian Film Day: WFG: Found In Translation Tour: Animating the Good and the Bad

Wed, April 17 / 7 pm
Free Admission
Winnipeg Film Group: Found In Translation Tour:
Animating the Good and the Bad

Introduced by Steph Berrington

In conjunction with National Canadian Film Day we present Winnipeg Film Group: Found In Translation Tour: Animating the Good and the Bad. The films in this animation program are sometimes funny, sometimes irreverent, and sometimes dystopic in their rejection of normative ideologies. Featuring The Talk: True Stories about the Birds and Bees by Alain Delannoy, Boy Toys by Trevor Kristjanson, Bush Wact by Mike Maryniuk, Loving The Bomb by Alison Davis, The Nine to Five Crack by John Paizs, A Bit Transcendental by Patrick Lowe, I Want it by Murray Toews, Empty by Jackie Traverse, and In Still Time by Leslie Supnet.

The Winnipeg Film Group’s Distribution Department has hundreds of amazing (funny, poignant, thoughtful, quirky) independent short films in our collection. Some of these uniquely Canadian stories were largely inaccessible to French audiences here in Canada and around the world. With a grant from the Canada Council for the Arts we were able to translate and subtitle over 30 titles. This is the second part of a four-program series of the Winnipeg Film Group Distribution project Found in Translation / Traduction Fidèle, which will be presented for free at the Cinematheque over the next four months.

FREE ADMISSION!

 

« August 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
Sun 25

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 25

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Sun 25

Meeting Gorbachev

Fri, Aug 23 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 24 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Aug 25 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Wed, Aug 28 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Aug 29 & 30 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 31 / 5 pm
Sun 25

Gimme Some Truth presents: Shella Record – A Reggae Mystery

Wed, Aug 21 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 22 / 9:30 pm
Fri, Aug 23 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 24 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Aug 25 / 7 pm
Wed, Aug 28 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 31 / 9 pm
Mon 26

nîpawistamâsowin: We Will Stand Up

ADDITIONAL SCREENINGS ADDED:
Sat & Sun, Aug 3 & 4 / 1 pm
Sat, Aug 17 / 1 pm
Mon, Aug 19 / 7 pm *
Mon, Aug 26 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact