Loading Events
Now Playing

Nannook of the North (with live score)

SAT, APR 30 / 7 pm
DIR. ROBERT FLAHERTY | 1922 | USA | 65 MIN
Featuring a live score featuring Nathan Reimer, Mark Penner, and Inuit throat singer Nikki Komaksiutiksak

It was a turn-away crowd when we presented this rare silent classic last February for the series In the Shadow of the Company, about the Hudson’s Bay. Flaherty’s silent documentary is a landmark film of its genre about Inuit hunter Nanook as he struggles to survive with his family in the severe conditions of the Hudson’s Bay territory. This is a special reprise performance featuring the same amazing original music score by Nathan Reimer and friends.

Our screening of Nanook of the North has been generously sponsored by Red River Outfitters.

Red River Outfitters

« December 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
Mon 10

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Wed 12

I Am Cuba (Restoration)

Thu, Dec 6 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Dec 8 & 9 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Wed - Fri, Dec 12 - 14 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 15 / 3 pm
Thu 13

The Changeling (Restoration)

Sun, Dec 2 / 7 pm
Thu, Dec 6 / 9:30 pm
Sat, Dec 8 / 9:30 pm
Thu, Dec 13 / 9:30 pm
Fri 14

Scotty and the Secret History of Hollywood

Fri & Sat, Dec 14 & 15 / 9:30 pm
Sun, Dec 16 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Dec 20 & 21 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 22 / 5 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Dec 23 / 5 pm
Sat 15

The Heat: A Kitchen (R)evolution

Sat, Dec 15 / 7 pm
Sun, Dec 16 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Wed - Fri, Dec 19 - 21 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 22 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Dec 23 / 3 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact