Loading Events
Now Playing

Menorca

Thu & Fri, Apr 20 & 21 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 22 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Wed, Apr 26 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 29 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 30 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Directed by John Barnard
2016, Canada, 81 min

Opening night introduced by director John Barnard.

A hit at the recent Whistler Film Festival, this Winnipeg feature is the story of Claire, a suburban mother who is restless and wants to escape her home life. She indulges in some good-natured hedonistic debauchery and receives word from her child that he is abandoning her as his mother. To win back his affection, she decides to carry a small rock half way around the world to its place of origin on a Mediterranean island. Along the way, she goes to work in a strange strip club on the edge of civilization where exotic dancers perform in an otherworldly space for abandoned souls just like her. Shot on location in Manitoba and Menorca, Balearic Islands, this beautifully photographed story features a great performance from lead actress Tammy Gillis and a largely Winnipeg cast.

Reviews

Seriously provocative...Menorca somehow gets under your skin.
- Georgia Straight
« May 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Wed 23

Loveless (Nelyubov)

Wed & Thu, May 23 & 24 / 7 pm
Sat, May 26 / 6 pm
Sun, May 27 / 3 pm
Wed, May 30 / 7 pm
Fri, Jun 1 / 7 pm
Wed, Jun 6 / 7 pm
Thu 24

The Young Karl Marx

Fri, May 18 / 9 pm
Sat, May 19 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, May 20 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Thu, May 24 / 9:30 pm
Fri, May 25 / 7 pm
Sat, May 26 / 3 pm
Fri 25

Star Robot: Back to the Markus

Fri, May 25 / 9:15 pm
Sat 26

Boom for Real: The Late Teenage Years of Jean-Michel Basquiat

Thu, May 17 / 9 pm
Sat, May 19 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sun, May 20 / 5:15 pm
Sat, May 26 / 9 pm
Sun, May 27 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, May 31 & Jun 1 / 9:15 pm
Mon 28

WIDC SHARING AUTHENTIC VOICES: The Confidence Continuum

Monday, May 28, 2018 | Winnipeg Cinematheque,100 Arthur St, Winnipeg, MB | 5:30 pm to 8:30 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact