Loading Events
Now Playing

Meeting Gorbachev

Fri, Aug 23 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 24 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Aug 25 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Wed, Aug 28 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Aug 29 & 30 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 31 / 5 pm
Directed by Werner Herzog & André Singer
2018, UK/US/Germany, 90 min
Russian, German English with subtitles

The USSR’s last leader, Mikhail Gorbachev, steps back into the limelight in this riveting documentary focused on a life that changed history. Now 87 and in precarious health, Gorbachev nevertheless possesses a mind as sharp as ever as he parries Werner Herzog (Grizzly Man, Cave of Forgotten Dreams) in a series of interviews. Gorbachev tells his story his way, immune to Herzog’s conversational gambits. Archival footage and interviews with Gorbachev contemporaries, including Poland’s Lech Walesa and former Secretary of State George Shultz, help fill in the portrait, but it is Gorbachev’s own words that form the core of this fascinating portrait. – SFFF

Reviews

One of the most important documentaries of the year because it still feels fresh and relevant to our times.
  - Jordan Ruimy , The Playlist
Four stars. Acclaimed documentarian Werner Herzog spent a year interviewing the last President of the USSR, Mikhail Sergeyevich Gorbachev. Over the course of ninety minutes, Herzog takes us through a potted history of the decline of the Soviet Union and the achievements of one of the 20th century’s greatest political figures.
- Christopher Machell, Cinevue
« September 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
Fri 20

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Fri 20

Architecture+Film: Push

Fri, Sep 20 / 7 pm
Fri 20

Asako I & II

Sat, Sept 14 / 7:30 pm
Wed, Sept 18 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Sept 19 & 20 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 21 / 5 pm
Wed, Sept 25 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 28 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Fri 20

Marianne & Leonard: Words of Love

Fri, Sept 13 / 7 pm
Sat, Sept 14 / 3 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Sept 15 / 3 pm
Wed, Sept 18 / 9:30 pm
Sat, Sept 21 / 3 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Sept 22 / 7 pm
Fri 20

Asako I & II

Sat, Sept 14 / 7:30 pm
Wed, Sept 18 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Sept 19 & 20 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 21 / 5 pm
Wed, Sept 25 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 28 / 3 pm & 5 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact