Loading Events
Now Playing

McDonald at the Movies: Young Frankenstein

Wed, Jan 22 / 7 pm
Directed by Mel Brooks
1974, USA, 106 min

Once a month, comedian and co-founder of Kids in the Hall, Kevin McDonald will present a film handpicked from the archives of comic history.

Introduced by Kevin McDonald.

Perhaps one of Mel Brook’s greatest comedies. Victor Frankenstein (Gene Wilder) learns that he has inherited grandfather’s castle in Transylvania and soon he is in the business of bringing the dead back to life. Featuring an all star cast of character actors – Marty Feldman, Madeline Kahn and Teri Garr.

Reviews

A nutbrain classic. At one point, Peter Boyle delivers a strangledvoice musical number that shows what Brooks can do when his comic instinct is really working. He can make you laugh helplessly.
— Pauline Kael, The New Yorker
« February 2020 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
1
Fri 28

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sat 29

CICFF: Best of the Fests

Fri, Feb 28 / 7 pm
Sat 29
Sat 29

Varda by Agnès

Fri & Sat, Feb 7 & 8 / 7 pm
Sun, Feb 9 / 5 pm
Wed, Feb 12 / 9 pm
Thu, Feb 13 / 7 pm
Sat, Feb 29 / 2:30 pm
Sun, Mar 1 / 7 pm
Sat 29

Restoration Tuesdays: Daguerréotypes

Tue, Feb 4 / 3 pm
Tue, Feb 11 / 7 pm
Tue, Feb 18 / 9 pm
Tue, Feb 25 / 3 pm
Sat, Feb 29 / 5 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact