Loading Events
Now Playing

McDonald at the Movies: Young Frankenstein

Wed, Jan 22 / 7 pm
Directed by Mel Brooks
1974, USA, 106 min

Once a month, comedian and co-founder of Kids in the Hall, Kevin McDonald will present a film handpicked from the archives of comic history.

Introduced by Kevin McDonald.

Perhaps one of Mel Brook’s greatest comedies. Victor Frankenstein (Gene Wilder) learns that he has inherited grandfather’s castle in Transylvania and soon he is in the business of bringing the dead back to life. Featuring an all star cast of character actors – Marty Feldman, Madeline Kahn and Teri Garr.

Reviews

A nutbrain classic. At one point, Peter Boyle delivers a strangledvoice musical number that shows what Brooks can do when his comic instinct is really working. He can make you laugh helplessly.
— Pauline Kael, The New Yorker
« January 2022 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
Tue 18

Sisters with Transistors

Available to rent for $9.99
January 14 - February 28
Tue 18

Greener Grass

Available to rent for $4.99
January 14 - Feb 28
Wed 19

Best of GFF: One of Ours

Sat, Jan 8 / 7:15pm
Sun, Jan 9 / 3:30pm
Wed, Jan 12 / 7pm
Sat, Jan 15 / 4:30pm
Tue, Jan 18 / 7pm
Wed 19

The Films of Roy Andersson: Giliap

Tue, Jan 18 / 9:10pm
Thu, Jan 20 / 9pm
Thu 20

Bootlegger

Fri, Jan 7 / 7pm
Sat, Jan 8 / 2:30pm & 5:15pm
Sun, Jan 9 / 5:40pm
Tue, Jan 11 / 9:30pm
Thu, Jan 13 / 9:30pm
Sat, Jan 15 / 9pm
Sun, Jan 16 / 5:30pm
Wed, Jan 19 / 7pm
Thu, Jan 20 / 7pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact