Loading Events
Now Playing

McDonald at the Movies: The Naked Gun: From the Files of Police Squad!

Thu, Sept, 21 / 7 pm
Directed by David Zucker
1988, USA, 85 min

Once a month, comedian and co-founder of Kids in the Hall, Kevin McDonald, will choose and introduce a handpicked film from the archives of comic history.

The creators of the cult hit Airplane!, returned with this terrific parody of cop shows based on their 1982 TV show Police Squad! Their ingenuity was in casting stone faced Leslie Nielsen as the bumbling detective Frank Drebin who tries to solve the murder of the missing Queen Elizabeth II.

Reviews

More juvenile than a Mel Brooks movie, wittier than "Get Smart," almost as low as "Animal House" and close to the laugh count of "Airplane!" The Naked Gun" is a loving parody of every cop show that ever syndicated its way to your living room.
- Washington Post
« Nov 2017 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
Fri 17

Architecture+Film: Columbus

Fri, Nov 17 / 7 pm
Fri 17

Faces Places (Visages, Villages)

Thu & Fri, Nov 16 & 17 / 9 pm
Sat, Nov 18 / 3 pm
Thu, Nov 23 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Nov 25 & 26 / 3 pm
Fri 17

Suspiria: 40th Anniversary 4K Restoration

Sat, Nov 11 / 9 pm
Fri, Nov 17 / 11 pm
Sat, Nov 18 / 9 pm
Fri, Nov 24 / 8:30 pm
Sat, Nov 25 / 11 pm
Sun, Nov 26 / 7 pm
Sat 18

Blue Screen//Green Screen shooting & editing!

Saturday November 18//12pm - 6pm
Sat 18

The Women’s Balcony

Sat & Sun, Nov 18 & 19 / 7 pm
Wed, Nov 22 / 7 pm
Thu, Nov 30 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 2 / 9 pm
Sun, Dec 3 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Dec 6 & 7 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 9 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact