Loading Events
Now Playing

McDonald at The Movies: The Ladykillers

Thu, Jan 26 / 7pm
Dir. Alexander Mackendrick
1955, UK, 91 min

Join us for McDonald at The Movies, where comedian, star and co-founder of Kids in the Hall, comic Kevin McDonald will present a film handpicked from the archives of comic history.

A crew of thieves led by Professor Marcus pulls off a daring heist and tricks their elderly landlady, who believes them to be a string quintet, into sneaking the loot past the authorities. When things don’t go as planned, the crew must improvise to keep their treasure and to ensure the old woman’s silence.

Sponsored by William F. White International.

Reviews

This sinister black comedy of murder accelerates until it becomes a grotesque fantasy of murder. The actors seem to be having a boisterous good time getting themselves knocked off.
- Pauline Kael, The New Yorker
Crooked smiles guaranteed.
- Robert Abele, Los Angeles Times
« February 2023 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
1
2
3
4
5
Fri 03

When You Finish Saving The World

Sat, Jan 28 / 5pm & 9pm
Sun, Jan 29 / 3pm & 7:30pm
Wed, Feb 1 / 7pm
Thu, Feb 2 / 7pm
Fri 03

Saint Omer

Fri, Jan 20 / 7pm
Sat, Jan 21 / 9:35pm
Sun, Jan 22 / 5pm
Fri, Jan 27 / 9pm
Sat, Jan 28 / 2:30pm
Sun, Jan 29 / 5pm
Wed, Feb 1 / 8:50pm
Thu, Feb 2 / 8:50pm
Sat 04

To Live To Sing

Fri, Feb 3 / 7pm
Sat 04

Adult Adoption

Fri, Feb 3 / 9:45pm
Sat, Feb 4 / 2:45pm
Sun, Feb 5 / 5pm
Wed, Feb 8 / 7pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact