Loading Events
Now Playing

McDonald at the Movies: Midnight Run

Wed, Jul 11 / 7 pm
Directed by Martin Brest
1988, USA, 126 min

Once a month, comedian and co-founder of Kids in The Hall, Kevin McDonald will present a film handpicked from the archives of comic history.

Introduced by Kevin McDonald.

In one of the funniest buddy road pictures ever made Robert De Niro plays Jack Walsh, an ex-cop now a bounty hunter who is hired by bail bondsman to pick up an accountant Jonathan ‘The Duke’ Mardukas (Charles Grodin) who’s stolen $15 million from the mob and has jumped bail. Taking him back to LA, Walsh also has to fend off rival bounty hunters, mobsters and the FBI who are all out to catch him.

Reviews

A work of rare brilliance, thanks first and foremost to its miraculous co-stars Robert De Niro and Charles Grodin, a pairing that has rarely if ever been matched in the annals of buddy comedy. Midnight Run is still one of the best action comedies ever made.
- Paul Greenwood, Alone in the Dark
Midnight Run has thrills, excellent performances, touching moments, lively dialogue, plenty of laughs, beautiful locations and finely detailed direction....the best new movie I've seen in years.
Mick LaSalle , San Francisco Chronicle
« Sep 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
Mon 24

Camera School: An Intensive Crash Course in Cinematography **SOLD OUT**

Every Wednesday: Sept 5, 12th, 19th, 26th & Oct 3 | 7pm – 10pm
Mon 24

Shoot Some 16mm – A 16mm Film Workshop

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. Sept 8, 2018 - 10 AM - 2 PM
Shooting Days: Sept 10 - Oct 19, 2018
Processing Day: Sat. Oct 20 & Sun. Oct 21 - 10 AM - 2 PM
Editing: Oct 22 - Dec 5, 2017
Screening Date: TBD
Mon 24

Camera School: An Intensive Crash Course in Cinematography II **NEW SESSION ADDED** ** SOLD OUT**

WFG Black Lodge | Thursday: Sept 13, 20th, 27th & Wednesday: Oct 10 & 17 | 7pm – 10pm
Sun 23

The Invisible Heart

Sun, Sept 23 / 7 pm
Wed, Sept 26 / 7 pm
Thu, Sept 27 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 29 / 5 pm
Sun, Sept 30 / 3 pm
Sun 23

2018 One Take Super 8 Event

Sunday, September 23 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact