Loading Events
Now Playing

McDonald at the Movies: Bad Santa

Wed, Dec 5 / 7 pm
Directed by Terry Zwigoff
2003, USA, 91 min

Once a month comedian and co-founder of Kids in the Hall, Kevin McDonald will present a film from handpicked the archives of comic history.

Introduced by Kevin McDonald.

In this savage take on Christmas, Billy Bob Thornton is Willie T. Stokes, a burned-out, hard-drinking safecracker who is annually roused from sleeping one off in that most wonderful time of the year by his partner, Marcus (Tony Cox). Willie is a department store Santa, and Marcus plays his elf. As he does so, Marcus also cases the store so that he and Willie can break in and relieve it of valuable merchandise. The whole ragged, hilarious package is what makes Bad Santa such a treat.

Reviews

Extremely funny thanks to Terry Zwigoff's (Ghost World, Crumb) way with raw irreverence and Thornton's perfectly pitched, ready-for-anything performance.
- Michael Rechtshaffen, The Hollywood Reporter
« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 21

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 21

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Sun 21

The Woman Who Loves Giraffes

Sat, Apr 6 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Apr 7 / 3 pm
Fri, Apr 12 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 13 & 14 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun 21

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact