Loading Events
Now Playing

Maison du bonheur

Wed & Thu, June 12 & 13 / 7 pm
Fri, June 14 / 9 pm
Sat, June 15 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, June 16 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Directed by Sofia Bohdanowicz
2017, Canada, 62 min
French with English subtitles

Juliane Sellam is a 77-year-old Parisian astrologer who has lived in the same pre-war apartment in Montmartre for half a century. In this vibrant documentary, which resembles the films of Agnes Varda, Toronto director Sofia Bohdanowicz focuses on Sellam’s daily life over 30 beautifully shot segments, narrated by both Sellam and Bohdanowicz. The matriarch’s life and rich inner world crystallize through her daily rituals of making coffee, applying makeup, and caring for her geraniums. Bohdanowicz captures the minutiae of these everyday acts with skill and humour, showing us that in these seemingly mundane moments, we can find proof of a life well lived.

*Winner of the Best Canadian Documentary Award by the Vancouver Film Critics Circle. Nominated for Rogers Best Canadian Film Prize by the Toronto Film Critics Association.

Plays with: Alternating Current / Directed by Rowan Gray, 2018, Canada, 7 min / A woman aging out of a thankless job faces a life of poverty after being suddenly stripped of her hard-earned pension.

« July 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
Wed 17

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Wed 17

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Wed 17

2019 WFG Summer Teen Filmmaking Camp

Session 1: Mon July 8 to Fri July 19 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge

Session 2: Mon Aug 12 to Fri Aug 23 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge
Fri 26
Tue 30

Restoration Tuesdays: Hard Ticket to Hawaii

Tue, July 2 / 7 pm *
Tue, July 9 / 7 pm & 9pm
Tue, July 30 / 7 pm & 9pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact