Loading Events
Now Playing

Macbeth

Wed - Fri, Mar 2 - 4 / 7 pm
Sat, Mar 5 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Mar 6 / 7 pm
Wed, Mar 9 / 7 pm
Directed by Justin Kurzel
2015, UK/France, 113 min

To mark the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare’s death we present Justin Kurzel’s thrilling new adaptation of this classic tale of madness and power; the story of a general who takes over the throne of the King of Scotland and becomes a tyrannical ruler. With powerful performances by Michael Fassbender (Steve Jobs, Twelve Years a Slave) and Marion Cotillard (Two Days, One Night) as Lady Macbeth, this new film version is steeped in a tragic story of all-consuming passion and ambition set in war torn Scotland.

Reviews

Remarkable...a scorched-earth rendering of a classic story. In Kurzel's Macbeth, the beautiful ferocity and complexity of Shakespeare's "Macbeth" is reborn, forged in iron, blood, and fire.  - The Playlist
« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Mon 22

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Mon 22

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm
Wed 24

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Fri 26

Canada’s Top Ten: Giant Little Ones

Fri, Apr 26 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, April 27 & 28 / 5 pm & 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact