Loading Events
Workshops and Training
  • This event has passed.

Life Classes and Don Shebib’s Goin Down The Road: A Discussion

Life Classes and Don Shebib’s Goin Down The Road: A Discussion

Saturday, May 13 / 1 pm

Location: Cinematheque
Registration Fee: Free admission!
Instructor: Bill MacGillivray

When: Saturday, May 13 / 1 pm

Where: Cinematheque, 100 Arthur St

East coast independent filmmaker Bill MacGillivray will compare his film Life Classes with Don Shebib’s  Goin’ Down The Road in terms of appropriation, cultural representation and notions of regionalism versus the centre as well as gender politics. Bill MacGillivray is a pioneering independent filmmaker based in Halifax, Nova Scotia. He was one of the founders of the Atlantic Filmmaker’s Co-operative, one of the oldest artist run centres in Canada next to the Winnipeg Film Group. He has made five fiction features, numerous documentaries and shorter films as well as a television series. The Cinematheque is honored to feature a four day retrospective of his works.

« May 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Wed 23

Loveless (Nelyubov)

Wed & Thu, May 23 & 24 / 7 pm
Sat, May 26 / 6 pm
Sun, May 27 / 3 pm
Wed, May 30 / 7 pm
Fri, Jun 1 / 7 pm
Wed, Jun 6 / 7 pm
Thu 24

The Young Karl Marx

Fri, May 18 / 9 pm
Sat, May 19 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, May 20 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Thu, May 24 / 9:30 pm
Fri, May 25 / 7 pm
Sat, May 26 / 3 pm
Fri 25

Star Robot: Back to the Markus

Fri, May 25 / 9:15 pm
Sat 26

Boom for Real: The Late Teenage Years of Jean-Michel Basquiat

Thu, May 17 / 9 pm
Sat, May 19 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sun, May 20 / 5:15 pm
Sat, May 26 / 9 pm
Sun, May 27 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, May 31 & Jun 1 / 9:15 pm
Mon 28

WIDC SHARING AUTHENTIC VOICES: The Confidence Continuum

Monday, May 28, 2018 | Winnipeg Cinematheque,100 Arthur St, Winnipeg, MB | 5:30 pm to 8:30 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact