Loading Events
Now Playing

Let the Corpses Tan

Fri, Sept 28 / 9 pm
Sun, Sept 30 / 7 pm
Wed, Oct 3 / 7 pm
Thu - Sat, Oct 4 - 6 / 9 pm
Sun, Oct 7 / 7 pm
Directed by Hélène Cattet & Bruno Forzani
2017, France / Belgium, 90 min

Belgian filmmakers Hélène Cattet and Bruno Forzani trade in the crushed velvet and creeping shadows of their giallo-worshiping first two films  (Amer, The Strange Color of Your Body’s Tears) for blistering sun, creaking leather and raining bullets in this glorious homage to 1970s Italian crime films.  After stealing a truckload of gold bars, a gang of thieves absconds to the ruins of a remote village perched on the cliffs of the Mediterranean. But when two cops roll up  on motorcycles to investigate, the hamlet erupts into a hallucinatory battlefield as both sides engage in an all-day, all-night firefight rife with double-crosses and dripping  with blood. Based on a classic pulp novel by Jean-Patrick Manchette and featuring music by Ennio Morricone, Let the Corpses Tan is a deliriously stylish, cinematic fever  dream that will slamfire your senses like buckshot to the brain.

Reviews

Beautiful, experimental and bold. One of the most exciting cinematic experiences I’ve had in quite some time. I couldn’t look away for fear of missing yet another thing I’d never witnessed before.
– Evan Saathoff, Birth. Movies. Death
« January 2020 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Thu 23

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Fri 24

Canada’s Top Ten: Murmur

Thu & Fri, Jan 23 & 24 / 7 pm
Sat, Jan 25 / 2:30 pm
Sun, Jan 26 / 5 pm
Wed, Jan 29 / 7 pm
Fri 24

Canada’s Top Ten: The Twentieth Century

Sat, Jan 11 / 9 pm (SOLD OUT)
Sun, Jan 12 / 7:30 pm
Wed, Jan 15 / 7 pm
Fri & Sat, Jan 17 & 18 / 9 pm
Sun, Jan 19 / 7 pm
Thu, Jan 23 / 9 pm
Sat 25

Canada’s Top Ten: Antigone

Fri, Jan 24 / 9 pm
Sat, Jan 25 / 4:30 pm
Sun, Jan 26 / 7 pm
Sat 25

Parasite

Thu, Jan 2 / 7 pm
Fri, Jan 3 / 9 pm
Sat, Jan 4 / 5 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun, Jan 5 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Jan 8 & 9 / 9 pm

ADDED SCREENINGS:
Mon, Jan 13 / 7 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Jan 19 / 12 pm
Mon, Jan 20 / 7 pm & 9:30 pm
Sat, Jan 25 / 12 pm
Sun, Jan 26 / 12 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact