Loading Events
Now Playing

Let the Corpses Tan

Fri, Sept 28 / 9 pm
Sun, Sept 30 / 7 pm
Wed, Oct 3 / 7 pm
Thu - Sat, Oct 4 - 6 / 9 pm
Sun, Oct 7 / 7 pm
Directed by Hélène Cattet & Bruno Forzani
2017, France / Belgium, 90 min

Belgian filmmakers Hélène Cattet and Bruno Forzani trade in the crushed velvet and creeping shadows of their giallo-worshiping first two films  (Amer, The Strange Color of Your Body’s Tears) for blistering sun, creaking leather and raining bullets in this glorious homage to 1970s Italian crime films.  After stealing a truckload of gold bars, a gang of thieves absconds to the ruins of a remote village perched on the cliffs of the Mediterranean. But when two cops roll up  on motorcycles to investigate, the hamlet erupts into a hallucinatory battlefield as both sides engage in an all-day, all-night firefight rife with double-crosses and dripping  with blood. Based on a classic pulp novel by Jean-Patrick Manchette and featuring music by Ennio Morricone, Let the Corpses Tan is a deliriously stylish, cinematic fever  dream that will slamfire your senses like buckshot to the brain.

Reviews

Beautiful, experimental and bold. One of the most exciting cinematic experiences I’ve had in quite some time. I couldn’t look away for fear of missing yet another thing I’d never witnessed before.
– Evan Saathoff, Birth. Movies. Death
« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 21

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 21

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Sun 21

The Woman Who Loves Giraffes

Sat, Apr 6 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Apr 7 / 3 pm
Fri, Apr 12 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 13 & 14 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun 21

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact