Loading Events
Now Playing

Jean-Pierre Melville: Le doulos

Fri, Jan 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Jan 26 / 3 pm
Directed by Jean-Pierre Melville
1963, France, 108 min
French with English subtitles

A stone-faced Jean-Paul Belmondo stars as enigmatic gangster Silien, who may or may not be responsible for squealing on Faugel (Serge Reggiani), just released from the slammer and already involved in what should have been a simple heist. By the end of this brutal, twisting, and multilayered policier, who will be left to trust?


The Jean-Pierre Melville Retrospective is presented in partnership with the Alliance Française du Manitoba, Institut Français, Cultural Services of the French Embassy in Canada, and the Jean-Pierre Melville Foundation.

            

Reviews

Nicolas Hayer's brooding black-and-white cinematography aids Melville enormously in creating the tense atmosphere that is all-important to this subtly exciting film of loyalty and betrayal.
- Craig Butler, All Movie Guide
« January 2020 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Mon 20

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Mon 20

Documentary Master Class with Danielle Sturk

Sun, January 19 | 11:00AM – 2:00PM
Mon 20

Cranks

Wed, Jan 15 / 9 pm
Fri, Jan 17 / 7 pm
Sat, Jan 18 / 5 pm
Sun, Jan 19 / 5 pm
Wed, Jan 22 / 9:15 pm
Mon 20

Canada’s Top Ten: The Twentieth Century

Sat, Jan 11 / 9 pm (SOLD OUT)
Sun, Jan 12 / 7:30 pm
Wed, Jan 15 / 7 pm
Fri & Sat, Jan 17 & 18 / 9 pm
Sun, Jan 19 / 7 pm
Thu, Jan 23 / 9 pm
Mon 20

Uncut Gems

Sun, Jan 19 / 9 pm
Sun, Jan 26 / 9:15 pm
Mon, Jan 27 / 9 pm
Sun, Feb 2 / 12 pm
Mon, Feb 3 / 7 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Feb 9 / 12 pm
Mon, Feb 10 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact