Loading Events
Now Playing

Jean-Pierre Melville: Army of Shadows (L’armee des ombres)

Fri, Feb 1 / 7 pm
Sun, Feb 3 / 7 pm
Directed by Jean-Pierre Melville
1969, France, 145 min
French with English subtitles

This masterpiece went unreleased in the United States for thirty-seven years. Philippe (Lino Ventura), aided by his Resistance compatriots, including maitresse of disguise Mathilde (Simone Signoret), goes underground in the face of the German Occupation – but the price of heroism can be truly horrific.


The Jean-Pierre Melville Retrospective is presented in partnership with the Alliance Française du Manitoba, Institut Français, Cultural Services of the French Embassy in Canada, and the Jean-Pierre Melville Foundation.

            

Reviews

Excruciatingly tense and never less than heartbreakingly human. And as much as I admire Spielberg's film "Munich" Shadows leaves Spielberg's film  in the dust in the moral-ambiguity department....it's already on my year's ten-best list for April 2006.
-Glenn Kenny, Premiere
« December 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
Tue 10

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Tue 10

Restorations Tuesdays: My 20th Century

Tue, Dec 3 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 10 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 17 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 24 / 7 pm
Tue 10

Restoration Tuesdays: The Cremator

Tue, Dec 3 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 10 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 17 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 24 / 9 pm
Wed 11

Pain & Glory

Thu Dec 5 / 7 pm
Fri, Dec 6 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 7 / 5 pm & 7:15 pm
Sun, Dec 8 / 7 pm
Wed, Dec 11 / 7 pm
Thu, Dec 12 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 14 / 7 pm
Sun, Dec 15 / 2 pm
Wed 11

Tigers Are Not Afraid

Wed & Thu, Dec 4 & 5 / 9:15 pm
Sat, Dec 7 / 3 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun, Dec 8 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Wed, Dec 11 / 9:15 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact