Loading Events
Now Playing

Jazz Film Fest: The Man Who Fell to Earth

Fri, June 23 / 9 pm
Sat, June 24 / 3 pm
Sun, June 25 / 3 pm
Directed by Nicolas Roeg
1976, UK, 139 min

David Bowie leaped to unforgettable screen stardom in his debut film, this Nicolas Roeg adaptation of Walter Tevis’ 1963 sci-fi tale of betrayal and hopelessness. Roeg’s exquisite visual sense and the inspired casting has made this a modern classic of sci-fi with a core much more attuned to the human than the technological, replete with elements of Burroughs, classic film and mythology. Bowie plays Thomas Jerome Newton, an alien emissary sent from the planet Anthea in a desperate effort to save both his own dying planet and to prevent us from destroying our own. -Mark Zimmer, Digitally Obsesessed

Sponsored by TD Winnipeg International Jazz Festival

jazzfestivallogojpg_1303

Reviews

Beautiful, jagged, freakish, startling and displacing..tender and mournful. -Tony Macklin
« Jun 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
Sun 24
Sun 24

Jazz Film Fest: Lady Be Good: Instrumental Women in Jazz

Wed, Jun 20 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Jun 23 & 24 / 3 pm
Sun 24

Jazz Film Fest: Bill Evans: Time Remembered

Fri, Jun 22 / 7 pm
Sun, Jun 24 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Jun 28 / 7 pm
Wed 27

Jazz Film Fest: Rain the Colour of Blue with a Little Red in It

Thu, Jun 21 / 9 pm
Sat, Jun 23 / 5 pm
Wed, Jun 27 / 7 pm
Thu 28

Jazz Film Fest: The Flaming Lips: The Fearless Freaks

Fri, Jun 22 / 9 pm
Thu, Jun 28 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact