Loading Events
Now Playing

Jazz Film Fest: The Man Who Fell to Earth

Fri, June 23 / 9 pm
Sat, June 24 / 3 pm
Sun, June 25 / 3 pm
Directed by Nicolas Roeg
1976, UK, 139 min

David Bowie leaped to unforgettable screen stardom in his debut film, this Nicolas Roeg adaptation of Walter Tevis’ 1963 sci-fi tale of betrayal and hopelessness. Roeg’s exquisite visual sense and the inspired casting has made this a modern classic of sci-fi with a core much more attuned to the human than the technological, replete with elements of Burroughs, classic film and mythology. Bowie plays Thomas Jerome Newton, an alien emissary sent from the planet Anthea in a desperate effort to save both his own dying planet and to prevent us from destroying our own. -Mark Zimmer, Digitally Obsesessed

Sponsored by TD Winnipeg International Jazz Festival

jazzfestivallogojpg_1303

Reviews

Beautiful, jagged, freakish, startling and displacing..tender and mournful. -Tony Macklin
« Apr 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
Mon 23

Basic Filmmaking Class

March 20, 2018 - May 6, 2018
Mon 23

WIDC Short Works Award with Winnipeg Film Group – SUBMISSION DEADLINE EXTENDED APRIL 25, 2018

WFG Media Lab, Black Lodge & Artspace Boardroom | Friday May 18 - May 29
Mon 23

Screenwriting Mechanics with Melva McLean

Monday April 23 & Wednesday April 25 | 7pm - 10pm
Wed 25

Happy End

Wed, Apr 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 27 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 28 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Apr 29 / 3 pm & 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact