Loading Events
Now Playing

Jazz Film Fest: Rain the Colour of Blue with a Little Red in It

Thu, Jun 21 / 9 pm
Sat, Jun 23 / 5 pm
Wed, Jun 27 / 7 pm
Directed by Christopher Kirkley
2015, Niger, 75 min
Tamashek with English subtitles

From one of the most comprehensive docs on women jazz instrumentalists in USA, Kay Ray’s Lady Be Good to the intimate, dynamic, portrait of the Flaming Lips, The Fearless Freaks, the stunning desert blues guitar playing of Mdou Moctar in Rain the Colour of Blue with a Little Red in It, and lastly don’t miss the eight years-in-the-making portrait of the legendary jazz pianist Bill Evans in Bill Evans: Time Remembered.

Tuareg guitarist Mdou Moctar stars in his first film, a revolutionary story of guitars, motorcycles, cellphones – and the music of a new generation. An homage to Prince’s legendary rock-u-drama Purple Rain, this spirited Niger-set remake is the first ever fictional film made in the Tamashek language. Riding into Agadez on his purple motorcycle, real life Tuareg guitarist Mdou Moctar must battle fierce competition from jealous musicians, handle family conflicts, endure the trials of love, and overcome his biggest rival – himself. Based on Moctar’s own personal experiences as a “desert blues” musician, his stunning guitar performances will leave you breathless.

Sponsored by the TD Winnipeg International Jazz Festival.

Reviews

Please, stop whatever you’re doing right now and type “Mdou Moctar” into YouTube — and savor the fact that you can. Moctar is a miraculous Tuareg guitarist and singer from Niger, a master of hypnotic Saharan electro-drone blues, each song burning on and on, all flatness and grit, like the wind grinding low over the desert. A striking, gentle bliss-out of a feature, one that offers all the thrilling HD close-ups of fingers on strings that those SIM cards couldn’t. Moctar and his playing are enough to make this a MUST SEE.
- Alan Scherstuhl, Village Voice
« Aug 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Sun 19

Kayak to Klemtu

Sat & Sun, Aug 11 & 12 / 5 pm
Sat & Sun, Aug 18 & 19 / 5:15 pm
Sun 19

The Oslo Diaries

Fri, Aug 10 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 11 / 3 pm
Sun, Aug 12 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Aug 15 & 16 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 18 / 3 pm
Sun, Aug 19 / 7 pm
Wed 22

Women’s Film and Video Network Summer Barbecue

Wednesday, August 22, 5 PM - 9 PM, FREE!
Wed 22

The Third Murder

Fri & Sat, Aug 17 & 18 / 7 pm
Sun, Aug 19 / 3 pm
Wed, Aug 22 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 23 / 9 pm
Thu 23

Let the Sunshine In (Un beau soleil intérieur)

Thu, Aug 23 / 7 pm
Fri, Aug 24 / 8:30 pm
Sat, Aug 25 / 3 pm
Sun, Aug 26 / 3 pm
Thu, Aug 30 / 8:30 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact