Loading Events
Now Playing

Jazz Film Fest: Bill Evans: Time Remembered

Fri, Jun 22 / 7 pm
Sun, Jun 24 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Jun 28 / 7 pm
Directed by Bruce Spiegel
2015, USA, 84 min

From one of the most comprehensive docs on women jazz instrumentalists in USA, Kay Ray’s Lady Be Good to the intimate, dynamic, portrait of the Flaming Lips, The Fearless Freaks, the stunning desert blues guitar playing of Mdou Moctar in Rain the Colour of Blue with a Little Red in It, and lastly don’t miss the eight years-in-the-making portrait of the legendary jazz pianist Bill Evans in Bill Evans: Time Remembered.

This film explores the rich history of jazz pianist Bill Evans’ turbulent life and his contribution to jazz music. A deeply creative musician Evans was playing professionally by the age of 13 and later in New York worked as a sideman with Charles Mingus and Art Farmer. Featuring rare archival footage including his first TV recording, playing Come Rain or Come Shine, which appeared on CBS Look Up and Live in April 1958, this compelling story includes interviews with 40 people including Tony Bennett, Dr. Billy Taylor, singer Jon Hendricks, Jim Hall, Gene Lees, and jazz pianist Bill Charlap.

 2018 Film Awards For Bill Evans: Time Remembered:

*Award of Excellence – Hollywood International Independent Documentary Awards
*Best Feature Documentary – Around International Film Festival – Paris
*Best Music Documentary – Logcinema Music Film Festival
*Best Documentary – Mediterranean Film Festival
*Best Documentary – Snow Dance Film Awards
*Best Documentary – Hollywood Hills Film Awards
*Best Documentary – Logcinema Art Films

Sponsored by the TD Winnipeg International Jazz Festival.

Reviews

Eight years in the making, Bruce Spiegel's touching documentary on the life and music of the late, great, and mysterious pianist is a must-see for jazz history buffs, as well as for anyone who enjoys cool, impressionistic piano.
-Peter Jurew, all About Jazz
« Aug 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Sun 19

Kayak to Klemtu

Sat & Sun, Aug 11 & 12 / 5 pm
Sat & Sun, Aug 18 & 19 / 5:15 pm
Sun 19

The Oslo Diaries

Fri, Aug 10 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 11 / 3 pm
Sun, Aug 12 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Aug 15 & 16 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 18 / 3 pm
Sun, Aug 19 / 7 pm
Wed 22

Women’s Film and Video Network Summer Barbecue

Wednesday, August 22, 5 PM - 9 PM, FREE!
Wed 22

The Third Murder

Fri & Sat, Aug 17 & 18 / 7 pm
Sun, Aug 19 / 3 pm
Wed, Aug 22 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 23 / 9 pm
Thu 23

Let the Sunshine In (Un beau soleil intérieur)

Thu, Aug 23 / 7 pm
Fri, Aug 24 / 8:30 pm
Sat, Aug 25 / 3 pm
Sun, Aug 26 / 3 pm
Thu, Aug 30 / 8:30 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact