Loading Events
Now Playing

Iranian Cinema: Malaria

Thu, Nov 16 / 7 pm
Directed by Parviz Shahbazi
2016, Iran, 90 min
Persian with English subtitles

A young girl informs her father she’s been kidnapped and asks him to bring the ransom money. Panicked, her father and brothers go to Tehran to look for her. They are unaware, however, that the girl has in fact eloped with her boyfriend and now spends her time in the company of a band of street musicians. Following the arrest of the band leader and full of the love for her boyfriend, the young girl descends an uncertain path.

2016 Venice Film Festival / Nominated for Best Film 

An ongoing series of Iranian films presented in conjunction with Amir Ganjavie, president of the Phoenix Cultural Centre of Toronto and CineIran—an annual festival of contemporary Iranian cinema in Toronto.

Reviews

I believe that Iranian society has never had a greater need of joy. The street concert sequence was shot in the heart of Tehran. Passers-by stood for hours to hear the music, paying no heed to the film crew. When the storyline allowed it, I introduced scenes of popular joy into the film, such as the night when the nuclear agreement between Iran and the 5+1 group was finally signed. I would have liked the main characters of my film to have also been joyous, but the contradictions of a society constantly torn between modernity and tradition renders such a thing difficult…
- Director, Parviz Shahbazi
« Nov 2017 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
Sun 19

A Ghost Story

Thu & Fri, Nov 9 & 10 / 9 pm
Sat & Sun, Nov 11 & 12 / 7 pm
Sun, Nov 19 / 3 pm
Sun 19

The Women’s Balcony

Sat & Sun, Nov 18 & 19 / 7 pm
Wed, Nov 22 / 7 pm
Thu, Nov 30 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 2 / 9 pm
Sun, Dec 3 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Dec 6 & 7 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 9 / 9 pm
Mon 20

Expanded Cinema Performance Lab

Monday 6pm - 10pm | Nov. 20, 27, Dec. 4, Jan. 8, 15, 22
Thu 23

Faces Places (Visages, Villages)

Thu & Fri, Nov 16 & 17 / 9 pm
Sat, Nov 18 / 3 pm
Thu, Nov 23 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Nov 25 & 26 / 3 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact