Loading Events
Now Playing

Iranian Cinema: 76 Minutes and 15 Seconds with Abbas Kiarostami

Fri, Aug 18 / 7 pm
Directed by Seyfolah Samadian
2016, Iran, 76 min
Farsi with English subtitles

In partnership with Amir Ganjavie, president of Phoenix Cultural Centre of Toronto and CineIran, an annual festival of contemporary Iranian cinema in Toronto, Cinematheque presents the first in an ongoing series of  innovative, original, Iranian cinema.

A singular, touching portrait of Abbas Kiarostami based on the memories of one of his closest collaborators. For over 25 years, photographer, cinematographer and author Seifollah Samadian was right by the famed director’s side., Samadian, worked as the cinematographer on ABC Africa and Five, wanted to pay his own tribute to the Iranian filmmaker who died on July 4, aged 76 years and 15 days. Based on a suggestion from Kiarostami’s son, this film collage brings together excerpts from the various journeys made by the two men in order to deliver a fragmented, moving portrait.

Plays With:
Take Me Home, Dir. / 2016/ Iran / 16 min
Abbas Kiarostami takes his camera to south of Italy and creates a beautiful, playful video of alleys and stairs.

 

Reviews

Both moving and apt in its intimate portrait of the director... the film uses exclusive video footage spanning many phases in Kiarostami’s life and career to describe a multitalented artist and an exceptional man who joyfully embraced life. - Hollywood Reporter
« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 21

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 21

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Sun 21

The Woman Who Loves Giraffes

Sat, Apr 6 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Apr 7 / 3 pm
Fri, Apr 12 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 13 & 14 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun 21

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact