Loading Events
Now Playing

Independent Film Week: DOWNTIME

SAT, NOV 29 / 9 pm
Dir. Greg Hanec | Canada 1985 | 66min. | 16mm

Life in Winnipeg is grim, grimy and gruesome. An austere film with touches of offbeat humour. Dark and brooding it paints a dismal picture of life for young people out on their own. The actors and words of its characters—strangers thrust into unexpected intimacy—are funny, unnerving and insightful.

—————————

Greg Hanec has been involved with film and video in Winnipeg for more than two decades. In the 1980s, he made three short films and two feature-length films, one of which, Downtime ’84, was accepted into the Berlin Film Festival. Since then, he has done seven experimental films and is completing his next feature, Think at Night. He collaborated with Campbell Martin on a series of guerilla projections of film loops on trains, billboards, and buildings. His loops and videos have also been a part of numerous raves, and performances of such bands as The Absent Sound, Vav Jungle, National Monument, and his own musical projects, Suture and Philia.

« August 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
Sun 25

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 25

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Sun 25

Meeting Gorbachev

Fri, Aug 23 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 24 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Aug 25 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Wed, Aug 28 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Aug 29 & 30 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 31 / 5 pm
Sun 25

Gimme Some Truth presents: Shella Record – A Reggae Mystery

Wed, Aug 21 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 22 / 9:30 pm
Fri, Aug 23 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 24 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Aug 25 / 7 pm
Wed, Aug 28 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 31 / 9 pm
Mon 26

nîpawistamâsowin: We Will Stand Up

ADDITIONAL SCREENINGS ADDED:
Sat & Sun, Aug 3 & 4 / 1 pm
Sat, Aug 17 / 1 pm
Mon, Aug 19 / 7 pm *
Mon, Aug 26 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact