Loading Events
Now Playing

Honeyland

Thu, Jan 2 / 9:30 pm
Fri, Jan 3 / 7 pm
Sat, Jan 4 / 3 pm & 7:30 pm
Sun, Jan 5 / 5 pm
Wed, Jan 8 / 7 pm
Fri, Jan 10 / 9:30 pm
Sat, Jan 11 / 5 pm
Directed by Tamara Kotevska & Ljubomir Stefanov
2019, Macedonia, 90 min
Turkish with English subtitles

A triple Sundance award-winner, Honeyland offers up a visual feast. Haditze Muratova scales her way along the breathtaking Balkan mountainside to check her beloved cache of honeybees. She’s the last of the Macedonian wild beekeepers and lives alone with her ailing mother on a farm unspoiled by electricity or running water. She survives by selling small-batch honey in a Skopje market, a mere four-hour walk away. Her peace is happily broken by the arrival of new neighbours, their herd of cattle and seven kids. Sumptuously filmed over three years, this extraordinary debut fable imparts a timeworn message about humankind’s true place in the natural order. – Myrocia Watamaniuk, Hot Docs

Reviews

The opening minutes of Honeyland are as astonishing — as sublime and strange and full of human and natural beauty — as anything I’ve ever seen in a movie.
– A.O. Scott, New York Times
« January 2020 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Sun 19

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 19

Canada’s Top Ten: The Twentieth Century

Sat, Jan 11 / 9 pm (SOLD OUT)
Sun, Jan 12 / 7:30 pm
Wed, Jan 15 / 7 pm
Fri & Sat, Jan 17 & 18 / 9 pm
Sun, Jan 19 / 7 pm
Thu, Jan 23 / 9 pm
Sun 19

Documentary Master Class with Danielle Sturk

Sun, January 19 | 11:00AM – 2:00PM
Sun 19

Parasite

Thu, Jan 2 / 7 pm
Fri, Jan 3 / 9 pm
Sat, Jan 4 / 5 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun, Jan 5 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Jan 8 & 9 / 9 pm

ADDED SCREENINGS:
Mon, Jan 13 / 7 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Jan 19 / 12 pm
Mon, Jan 20 / 7 pm & 9:30 pm
Sat, Jan 25 / 12 pm
Sun, Jan 26 / 12 pm
Sun 19

Cabin Fever: Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Sun, Jan 19 / 3 pm
Free Admission!

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact