Loading Events
Now Playing

Her Smell

Thu & Fri, Aug 1 & 2 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 3 / 5 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Aug 4 / 5 pm
Wed & Thu, Aug 7 & 8 / 9 pm
Directed by Alex Ross Perry
2019, USA, 134 min

The riot grrrl answer to soulless assembly-line music biopics like Bohemian Rhapsody, Her Smell charts the descent —and potential rebirth — of Becky Something (Elizabeth Moss), the frontwoman of an all-female grunge band in the vein of Bikini Kill, Bratmobile, and L7. As the ’90s come to a close, Becky’s drug abuse and unspooling mental health alienate people in all corners of her life, from her bandmates (Agyness Deyn and Gayle Rankin) to her label owner (Eric Stoltz), mother (Virginia Madsen), husband (Dan Stevens), would-be proteges (Ashley Benson, Cara Delevingne, and Dylan Gelula), and a friend whose star has risen higher than her own (Amber Heard). – Dan Caffrey, Consequence of Sound

Reviews

A brave and rewarding punk epic... if the script evokes John Cassavetes, the aesthetic seems more inspired by Gaspar Noé.
- David Ehrlich, IndieWIRE
« September 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
Wed 18

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Wed 18

Safer Sets: A guide to creating a safe, positive space

September 18 (7-10PM) | WFG Black Lodge
Wed 18

Asako I & II

Sat, Sept 14 / 7:30 pm
Wed, Sept 18 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Sept 19 & 20 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 21 / 5 pm
Wed, Sept 25 / 9 pm
Sat & Sun, Sept 28 & 29 / 3 pm
Wed 18

Marianne & Leonard: Words of Love

Fri, Sept 13 / 7 pm
Sat, Sept 14 / 3 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Sept 15 / 3 pm
Wed, Sept 18 / 9:30 pm
Sat, Sept 21 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Sept 22 / 7 pm
Wed 18

Running Water 3D

Thu, Sept 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Sept 21 / 7:30 pm 

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact