Loading Events

Her Smell

Thu & Fri, Aug 1 & 2 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 3 / 5 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Aug 4 / 5 pm
Wed & Thu, Aug 7 & 8 / 9 pm
Directed by Alex Ross Perry
2019, USA, 134 min

The riot grrrl answer to soulless assembly-line music biopics like Bohemian Rhapsody, Her Smell charts the descent —and potential rebirth — of Becky Something (Elizabeth Moss), the frontwoman of an all-female grunge band in the vein of Bikini Kill, Bratmobile, and L7. As the ’90s come to a close, Becky’s drug abuse and unspooling mental health alienate people in all corners of her life, from her bandmates (Agyness Deyn and Gayle Rankin) to her label owner (Eric Stoltz), mother (Virginia Madsen), husband (Dan Stevens), would-be proteges (Ashley Benson, Cara Delevingne, and Dylan Gelula), and a friend whose star has risen higher than her own (Amber Heard). – Dan Caffrey, Consequence of Sound

Reviews

A brave and rewarding punk epic... if the script evokes John Cassavetes, the aesthetic seems more inspired by Gaspar Noé.
- David Ehrlich, IndieWIRE
« July 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
Sun 21

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 21

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Sun 21

2019 WFG Summer Teen Filmmaking Camp

Session 1: Mon July 8 to Fri July 19 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge

Session 2: Mon Aug 12 to Fri Aug 23 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge
Fri 26
Tue 30

Restoration Tuesdays: Hard Ticket to Hawaii

Tue, July 2 / 7 pm *
Tue, July 9 / 7 pm & 9pm
Tue, July 30 / 7 pm & 9pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact