Loading Events
Now Playing

Gimme Some Truth: How We Got Here: A Selective History of Documentary Films in Manitoba

Wed, Oct 31 / 7 pm
Presented by Kevin Nikkel

Followed by an opening night reception at Cordova Tapas & Wine.

In celebration of the 35th anniversary of DOC Canada (Documentary Organization of Canada).

The roots of documentary filmmaking in Manitoba go down deep into the prairie soil. How did we get to here?  Who were the pioneers of documentary cinema in Manitoba? What explains the tremendous growth of documentary filmmaking in our province? Which films stand out? This interactive live film presentation, using archival footage, select film clips, interviews, and a wealth of research, presents the least that you should know about the history of documentary filmmaking in Manitoba.

PRESENTED IN PARTNERSHIP WITH DOC WINNIPEG, AND THE GENEROUS SUPPORT OF MANITOBA FILM & MUSIC AND ON SCREEN MANITOBA.

        

« January 2020 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Mon 20

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Mon 20

Documentary Master Class with Danielle Sturk

Sun, January 19 | 11:00AM – 2:00PM
Mon 20

Cranks

Wed, Jan 15 / 9 pm
Fri, Jan 17 / 7 pm
Sat, Jan 18 / 5 pm
Sun, Jan 19 / 5 pm
Wed, Jan 22 / 9:15 pm
Mon 20

Canada’s Top Ten: The Twentieth Century

Sat, Jan 11 / 9 pm (SOLD OUT)
Sun, Jan 12 / 7:30 pm
Wed, Jan 15 / 7 pm
Fri & Sat, Jan 17 & 18 / 9 pm
Sun, Jan 19 / 7 pm
Thu, Jan 23 / 9 pm
Mon 20

Uncut Gems

Sun, Jan 19 / 9 pm
Sun, Jan 26 / 9:15 pm
Mon, Jan 27 / 9 pm
Sun, Feb 2 / 12 pm
Mon, Feb 3 / 7 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Feb 9 / 12 pm
Mon, Feb 10 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact