Loading Events
Now Playing

Gimme Some Truth: Fields of Endless Day

Sun, Nov 4 / 1 pm
Directed by Terence McCartney-Filgate
1978, Canada, 58 min

Introduced by Alexa Potashnik. A panel discussion on the issue of the presentation of Black history by White authorities will follow the film.

In a series of dramatic and documentary episodes, Fields of Endless Day outlines the presence of Black people in Canada, from the 17th century to the wartime participation and activist groups of the first half of the 20th century. The film seeks to uncover the “roots” of Canada’s Black population, tracing the history of their struggles and triumphs over a period of almost three hundred and seventy-five years. Special 16mm print presentation.

PRESENTED IN PARTNERSHIP WITH BLACK SPACE WINNIPEG.

« July 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
Thu 18

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Thu 18

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Thu 18

2019 WFG Summer Teen Filmmaking Camp

Session 1: Mon July 8 to Fri July 19 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge

Session 2: Mon Aug 12 to Fri Aug 23 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge
Fri 26
Tue 30

Restoration Tuesdays: Hard Ticket to Hawaii

Tue, July 2 / 7 pm *
Tue, July 9 / 7 pm & 9pm
Tue, July 30 / 7 pm & 9pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact