Loading Events
Now Playing

Gimme Some Truth: Beyond Climate (SOLD OUT)

Fri, Nov 2 / 7 pm
Eckhardt Gramatté Hall (University of Winnipeg)
Directed by Ian Mauro
2018, Canada, 48 min

Introduction and Q&A with Ian Mauro & David Suzuki. Elder Dave Courchene will open the evening.

Narrated by David Suzuki, Beyond Climate explores the human and environmental impacts of climate change in British Columbia, and it is a timely contribution to the province and country as we grapple with climate change, the paramount issue of our time.

Plays with Golf / Directed by Scott Fitzpatrick, 2018, Canada, 6 min / An extrapolation on a metaphor from Naomi Klein’s “This Changes Everything” (2014); a found-footage video essay regarding fossil fuel extraction, propaganda, the Moon, and historical pastimes.

PRESENTED WITH THE GENEROUS SUPPORT OF MANITOBA FILM & MUSIC, ON SCREEN MANITOBA, THE RICHARDSON COLLEGE FOR THE ENVIRONMENT, AND THE PRAIRIE CLIMATE CENTRE.

           

« December 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
Tue 11

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Wed 12

I Am Cuba (Restoration)

Thu, Dec 6 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Dec 8 & 9 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Wed - Fri, Dec 12 - 14 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 15 / 3 pm
Thu 13

The Changeling (Restoration)

Sun, Dec 2 / 7 pm
Thu, Dec 6 / 9:30 pm
Sat, Dec 8 / 9:30 pm
Thu, Dec 13 / 9:30 pm
Fri 14

Scotty and the Secret History of Hollywood

Fri & Sat, Dec 14 & 15 / 9:30 pm
Sun, Dec 16 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Dec 20 & 21 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 22 / 5 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Dec 23 / 5 pm
Sat 15

The Heat: A Kitchen (R)evolution

Sat, Dec 15 / 7 pm
Sun, Dec 16 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Wed - Fri, Dec 19 - 21 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 22 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Dec 23 / 3 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact