Loading Events
Now Playing

Gimme Some Truth: Best of Hot Docs: Sugar Coated

Sat, May 30 / 12 pm
Dir. Michèle Hozer
2015, Canada, 90 min
Manitoba Premiere

This compelling investigative doc exposes the US sugar industry’s systematic hijacking of scientific study to bury evidence that sugar is, in fact, toxic. For 40 years, Big Sugar deflected threats to its multibillion dollar empire through creative PR and tactics strikingly similar to the way the tobacco industry disguised the fact that its products are addictive and cause fatal illnesses. As obesity rates skyrocket and doctors treat the first generation of children suffering from fatty liver disease, the sugar industry has come under increasing scrutiny from emerging scientific and medical studies. The film introduces us to crusaders like pediatric endocrinologist Dr. Robert Lustig, superstar professor from San Francisco who brought down Big Tobacco, Stanton Glantz, and Denver dentist Cristin Kearns, who exposes one sugar company’s playbook to co-opt research and discredit critics. While the industry steps up its advertising spin and lobbying efforts, Sugar Coated warns that we are sitting on a dietary time bomb.
– Lynne Fernie, Hot Docs

Presented in partnership with the Bell Media Best of Hot Docs
Print

« Aug 2017 » loading...
M T W T F S S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Sun 20

The Wedding Plan (Laavor et hakir)

Thu, Sept 7 / 9 pm
Fri & Sat, Sept 8 & 9 / 7 pm
Sun, Sept 10 / 3 pm
Thu, Sept 14 / 7 pm
Fri & Sat, Sept 15 & 16 / 9 pm
Sun Sept 17 / 3 pm

Sat 19

Introduction to the Oxberry

Sunday August 20 // 12pm - 4pm & 4pm - 8pm
Sun 20

Risk

Thu & Fri, Aug 17 & 18 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 19 / 3 pm
Sun Aug 20 / 7 pm
Fri, Aug 25 / 9 pm
Wed 23

Eva Hesse

Wed, Aug 23 / 7 pm
Fri & Sat, Aug 25 & 26 / 7 pm
Sun, Aug 27 / 3 pm
Wed & Thu, Aug 30 & 31 / 7 pm
Thu 24

Lost in Artspace

Thu, Aug 24 / 8 pm - 1 am

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact