Loading Events
Now Playing

Gimme Some Truth: Bell Media Hot Docs Showcase: Primas

Thu, Nov 1 / 9:30 pm
Directed by Laura Bari
2017, Canada/Argentina, 95 min
Spanish with English subtitles

 Primas is an evocative portrait of Argentinian teenagers, cousins Rocio and Aldana, who in the wake of the heinous acts of violence that interrupted their childhoods, will free themselves from the shadows of their past. Between Argentina and Montreal, the girls come of age while having revelatory experiences in their lives through art. They express through their bodies what only their imagination, their unique perspective and their unshakable resilience can reveal.

Plays with Love Starved: More Than Fat / Directed by Allison Stevens, 2017, Canada, 13 min / A woman explores her personal history through journals, artwork, and family photos to overcome her shame about her body. When her childhood medical records reveal that she was obese at 3 years old, she questions when being fat became a choice. As she reflects on the negative messages that have been imprinted upon her body, she must confront her core insecurities.

PRESENTED IN PARTNERSHIP WITH THE BELL MEDIA HOT DOCS SHOWCASE.

Reviews

Primas is a powerfully simple and quietly devastating testament to its subjects’ strength. It’ll stay with you.
– Norman Wilner, Now Toronto
« August 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
Sun 25

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 25

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Sun 25

Meeting Gorbachev

Fri, Aug 23 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 24 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Aug 25 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Wed, Aug 28 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Aug 29 & 30 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 31 / 5 pm
Sun 25

Gimme Some Truth presents: Shella Record – A Reggae Mystery

Wed, Aug 21 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 22 / 9:30 pm
Fri, Aug 23 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 24 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Aug 25 / 7 pm
Wed, Aug 28 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 31 / 9 pm
Mon 26

nîpawistamâsowin: We Will Stand Up

ADDITIONAL SCREENINGS ADDED:
Sat & Sun, Aug 3 & 4 / 1 pm
Sat, Aug 17 / 1 pm
Mon, Aug 19 / 7 pm *
Mon, Aug 26 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact