Loading Events
Now Playing

Gimme Some Truth: Bell Media Hot Docs Showcase: Primas

Thu, Nov 1 / 9:30 pm
Directed by Laura Bari
2017, Canada/Argentina, 95 min
Spanish with English subtitles

 Primas is an evocative portrait of Argentinian teenagers, cousins Rocio and Aldana, who in the wake of the heinous acts of violence that interrupted their childhoods, will free themselves from the shadows of their past. Between Argentina and Montreal, the girls come of age while having revelatory experiences in their lives through art. They express through their bodies what only their imagination, their unique perspective and their unshakable resilience can reveal.

Plays with Love Starved: More Than Fat / Directed by Allison Stevens, 2017, Canada, 13 min / A woman explores her personal history through journals, artwork, and family photos to overcome her shame about her body. When her childhood medical records reveal that she was obese at 3 years old, she questions when being fat became a choice. As she reflects on the negative messages that have been imprinted upon her body, she must confront her core insecurities.

PRESENTED IN PARTNERSHIP WITH THE BELL MEDIA HOT DOCS SHOWCASE.

Reviews

Primas is a powerfully simple and quietly devastating testament to its subjects’ strength. It’ll stay with you.
– Norman Wilner, Now Toronto
« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 21

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 21

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Sun 21

The Woman Who Loves Giraffes

Sat, Apr 6 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Apr 7 / 3 pm
Fri, Apr 12 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 13 & 14 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun 21

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact