Loading Events
Now Playing

Gimli Film Festival Presents: Best of The Fest: Minding The Gap

Wed, Mar 20 / 9 pm
Thu, Mar 21 / 7 pm
Fri, Mar 22 / 9 pm
Sun, Mar 24 / 5 pm
Directed by Bing Liu
2018, USA, 93 min

*Winner of Best of Fest Award at 2018 Gimli Film Festival

Minding the Gap has garnered over 50 awards and recognitions, most recently receiving an Academy Award nomination for Best Documentary. Three young men bond together over their love of skateboarding to escape their volatile families in their Rust-Belt hometown. As they face adult responsibilities, unexpected revelations threaten their decade-long friendship. Filmmaker Bing Liu returns home to reconnect with his two friends, bringing with him footage he shot over the course of the last 10 years, and prepares for an emotional reckoning.


The Gimli Film Festival and the Winnipeg Cinematheque are proud to present an encore screening of two of the best films from the 18th annual Gimli Film Festival. Minding the Gap won the Festival’s coveted Best of Fest Award in 2018, for its emotionally bare and bluntly honest portrayal of domestic abuse in middle America. Alternately, Under the Tree is a pristine example of the wry sense of dark Icelandic humour that GFF so often features in their Northern Lights Film Series.

Reviews

Minding the Gap is more than a celebration of skateboarding as a sport and a subculture. With infinite sensitivity, Mr. Liu delves into some of the most painful and intimate details of his friends’ lives and his own, and then layers his observations into a rich, devastating essay on race, class and manhood in 21st-century America.
- A.O. Scott, New York Times
« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Sat 20

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sat 20

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Sat 20

The Woman Who Loves Giraffes

Sat, Apr 6 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Apr 7 / 3 pm
Fri, Apr 12 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 13 & 14 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sat 20

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact