Loading Events
Now Playing

Ghost Town Anthology (Répertoire des ville disparues)

Thu - Sat, May 23 - 25 / 9 pm
Sun, May 26 / 5 pm
Wed, May 29 / 9 pm
Sun, June 2 / 7 pm
Directed by Denis Côté
2019, Canada, 97 min
French with English subtitles

In Irénée-les-Neiges, a small, isolated town with a population of 215, Simon Dubé dies in a car accident and the stunned townspeople are reluctant to discuss the circumstances of the tragedy. For the Dubé family, as well as for Mayor Smallwood and a handful of others, time seems to have lost all meaning, and the days stretch on without end. Something descends slowly upon the area. In this period of mourning and in this fog, ghostly strangers start to appear. Who are they? What is happening?

Reviews

One of the most distinct voices in Canadian film today... might be Denis Côté’s best film yet...What’s so brilliant about Ghost Town Anthology is that it’s impossible to distinguish the dying from the dead.
– Pat Mullen, Cinemablographer
Fifty years ago, Arthur C. Clarke wrote: “Behind every man now alive stand 30 ghosts, for that is the ratio by which the dead outnumber the living.” Côté’s haunting in Quebec takes this idea to its logical conclusion.
– Chris Knight
« December 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
Mon 16

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Tue 17

Restoration Tuesdays: The Cremator

Tue, Dec 3 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 10 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 17 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 24 / 9 pm
Tue 17

Restorations Tuesdays: My 20th Century

Tue, Dec 3 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 10 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 17 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 24 / 7 pm
Wed 18

The Two Popes

Fri, Dec 13 / 9:30 pm
Sat, Dec 14 / 2 pm & 4:30 pm
Sun, Dec 15 / 4:30 pm
Wed & Thu, Dec 18 & 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 21 / 7 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun, Dec 22 / 5 pm
Wed 18

Chained for Life

Thu, Dec 12 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 14 / 9:15 pm
Sun, Dec 15 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Dec 18 & 19 / 9:15 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact