Loading Events
Now Playing

Geek Girls

Wed, Mar, 21 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri , Mar 22 & 23 / 9 pm
Sat, Mar 24 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Mar 25 / 3 pm
Thu, Mar 29 / 9:30 pm
Directed by Gina Hara
2017, Canada, 83 min

Opening Night Introduced by Winnipeg-based publisher Hope Nicholson, historian, editor, writer and owner of Bedside Press. She is the curator and editor of The Secret Loves of Geeks series.

*Geek Girls Winnipeg will be hosting a reception in the lobby on opening night welcome to all from 6 pm to 10 pm.  Geek Girls Winnipeg is a monthly friendly socializing collection of over 600 non-binary & women geeks who gather in different locations each month to enjoy comics, videogames, and all sorts of fandom!

Geek Girls is the first feature-length documentary exploring the hidden half of fan culture: nerdy women. Filmmaker Gina Hara tells a great story, delving into a world of professional gamers, cute dresses, fake names, and death threats; she follows her subjects through the exhilaration of newfound community. Hara covers a lot of ground, interviewing prominent figures in comics, films, gaming players and game development, cosplay, and even aerospace engineering. Interviews include Jamie Broadnax of the Black Girl Nerds website and podcast and Mariko McDonald of Gamerwife. She also travels to Japan where it takes weeks to find women willing to open up. The “otaku” are afraid to speak up for fear of being ostracized by Japanese culture.

Reviews

Go see this, it is a compelling story that deserves to be heard. It will genuinely open your eyes to a community fighting for their place in the world.
- Mark Perkins, Exposed Magazine
« Aug 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Tue 14

Summer Teen Filmmaking Camp

July Session: July 9 - 20, Aug. Session: Aug 6 - 17 / 10 AM - 3 PM
Wed 15

The Oslo Diaries

Fri, Aug 10 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 11 / 3 pm
Sun, Aug 12 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Aug 15 & 16 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 18 / 3 pm
Sun, Aug 19 / 7 pm
Thu 16

Beast

Fri & Sat, Aug 10 & 11 / 9 pm
Sun, Aug 12 / 3 pm
Thu, Aug 16 / 9 pm
Fri & Sat, Aug 17 & 18 / 9:30 pm
Fri 17

The Third Murder

Fri & Sat, Aug 17 & 18 / 7 pm
Sun, Aug 19 / 3 pm
Wed, Aug 22 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 23 / 9 pm
Sat 18

Kayak to Klemtu

Sat & Sun, Aug 11 & 12 / 5 pm
Sat & Sun, Aug 18 & 19 / 5:15 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact