Loading Events
Now Playing

From Seed to Seed

Fri, Nov 9 / 7 pm
Sat, Nov 10 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Nov 11 / 5 pm
Directed by Katharina Stieffenhofer
2018, Canada, 87 min

*Best Environmental Film* Ridgefield Independent Film Fest, 2018, Connecticut
*Best Documentary Feature* Seneca Film Fest 2018 in New York

Katharina Stieffenhofer, Terry Mierau & Monique Scholte, Jonah and Raven Langelotz will introduce the screenings on Friday, November 9 at 7 pm. Katharina Stieffenhofer will also introduce Saturday, November 10 at 3 pm.

From Seed to Seed follows Terry and Monique Scholte who left their opera careers in Europe to pursue their true passion: ecological farming, in Southern Manitoba in the heart of Canada. Their young family, along with a diverse group of farmers and scientists, join forces to blend age-old traditions with cutting edge science to grow healthy organic  food within a supportive community, while accepting the realities of a changing climate. This journey through a growing season from seeding to harvest, enables us to experience the beautiful and sometimes harsh world of those who grow our food. The film tells a hopeful story with a Canadian perspective on a global social movement that regenerates the land, farming, and communities.

SPONSORED BY TALL GRASS PRAIRIE.

Reviews

Your film is so important and speaks to my heart. The audience loved it and I heard quite a few people talking about it later.
- Kee Kee Buckley, Festival Director,  Rivertown Film Festival, New Jersey
Congratulations on a gentle but powerful film that really grew on me as I fell deeply into the story.
- Matthew Gilbert, curator
« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 21

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 21

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Sun 21

The Woman Who Loves Giraffes

Sat, Apr 6 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Apr 7 / 3 pm
Fri, Apr 12 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 13 & 14 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun 21

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact