Loading Events
Now Playing

From Novel to Screen: Persuasion

Wed, Mar 25 / 7 pm
Directed by Roger Michell
1995, UK, 107 min

Winnipeg Free Press pop culture and film writer Alison Gillmor returns to host our book to film discussion and screening series. Following the screening, Alison will moderate a discussion of how the book compares to its screen adaptation. Participants who sign up for the discussion are encouraged to read the book in advance (available at McNally Robinson). Please register in advance (204-925-3456, ext 106).  The discussion is free and the only fee is admission to the film.

In 1814 England, Anne lives an oppressive life with her father and her elder sister, both of whom are incurable snobs. Eight years prior, Anne refused an offer of marriage from the man she loved, a young naval officer of no position or fortune. Now, after the Napoleonic wars, Captain Wentworth has gained both rank and money, and chance has thrown them together again. Anne finds herself confronted with thoughts of might-have-been as she watches Wentworth court someone else. An accident causes Wentworth to realize whom he truly cares for. Persuasion is a love story that unravels slowly, proving that good things cannot be rushed.

MWGlogos                         McNally Robinson

 

 

Reviews

Persuasion, based on Jane Austen's final novel (written in 1818) has charm and real punch in its revealing portrait of the remarkable transformation of a woman rediscovering her heart. Austen fans: Prepare to be swept away.
- San Francisco Chronicle
« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 21

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 21

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Sun 21

The Woman Who Loves Giraffes

Sat, Apr 6 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Apr 7 / 3 pm
Fri, Apr 12 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 13 & 14 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun 21

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact