Loading Events
Now Playing

French Film Festival: The Wages of Fear (Le salaire de la peur)

Fri, Mar 24 / 7 pm
Directed by Henri-Georges Clouzot
1953, France, 141 min
French with English subtitles

In a squalid South American oil town, four desperate men sign on for a suicide mission to drive trucks loaded with nitroglycerin over a treacherous mountain route. As they ferry their explosive cargo to a faraway oil fire, each bump and jolt tests their courage, their friendship, and their nerves. The result is one of the greatest thrillers ever committed to celluloid, a white-knuckle ride from France’s legendary master of suspense.

1-logo-afm

Reviews

The kind of motion picture for which phrases like "white-knuckle tension ride" have been coined....a visceral thriller..breathless excitement.
-James Berardinelli, Reel Views
« May 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Wed 23

Loveless (Nelyubov)

Wed & Thu, May 23 & 24 / 7 pm
Sat, May 26 / 6 pm
Sun, May 27 / 3 pm
Wed, May 30 / 7 pm
Fri, Jun 1 / 7 pm
Wed, Jun 6 / 7 pm
Thu 24

The Young Karl Marx

Fri, May 18 / 9 pm
Sat, May 19 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, May 20 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Thu, May 24 / 9:30 pm
Fri, May 25 / 7 pm
Sat, May 26 / 3 pm
Fri 25

Star Robot: Back to the Markus

Fri, May 25 / 9:15 pm
Sat 26

Boom for Real: The Late Teenage Years of Jean-Michel Basquiat

Thu, May 17 / 9 pm
Sat, May 19 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sun, May 20 / 5:15 pm
Sat, May 26 / 9 pm
Sun, May 27 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, May 31 & Jun 1 / 9:15 pm
Mon 28

WIDC SHARING AUTHENTIC VOICES: The Confidence Continuum

Monday, May 28, 2018 | Winnipeg Cinematheque,100 Arthur St, Winnipeg, MB | 5:30 pm to 8:30 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact