Loading Events
Now Playing

French Film Festival: The Wages of Fear (Le salaire de la peur)

Fri, Mar 24 / 7 pm
Directed by Henri-Georges Clouzot
1953, France, 141 min
French with English subtitles

In a squalid South American oil town, four desperate men sign on for a suicide mission to drive trucks loaded with nitroglycerin over a treacherous mountain route. As they ferry their explosive cargo to a faraway oil fire, each bump and jolt tests their courage, their friendship, and their nerves. The result is one of the greatest thrillers ever committed to celluloid, a white-knuckle ride from France’s legendary master of suspense.

1-logo-afm

Reviews

The kind of motion picture for which phrases like "white-knuckle tension ride" have been coined....a visceral thriller..breathless excitement.
-James Berardinelli, Reel Views
« Oct 2017 » loading...
M T W T F S S
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
Thu 19

Basic Filmmaking Class

September 26 - October 29th
Thu 19
Thu 19

Bill Frisell: A Portrait

Sun Oct 8 / 7 pm
Wed, Oct 11 / 7 pm
Sun, Oct 15 / 7 pm
Wed, Oct 18 / 7 pm
Thu, Oct 19 / 9 pm
Fri 20

Endless Poetry (Poesía sin fin)

Fri, Oct 20 / 7 pm
Sat Oct 21 / 9 pm
Thu, Oct 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Oct 28 / 9 pm
Sun, Oct 29 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact