Loading Events
Now Playing

French Film Festival: Sink or Swim (Le grand bain)

Thu, Mar 7 / 9 pm
Directed by Gilles Lellouche
2018, France, 122 min
French with English subtitles

A group of 40-somethings on the verge of a mid-life crisis, decide to form their local pool’s first ever synchronized swimming team – for men. Starring Mathieu Almaric and Guillaume Canet.


Alliance Française du Manitoba is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to teaching and promoting French and its diverse culture. For the 5th time, the Alliance Française’s French Film Festival, curated by Damien Ferland and Alan Nobili, will give Winnipeggers the opportunity to see a diverse selection of French feature-length movies.

Co-presented by Cinemental 

Reviews

Sink or Swim features Mathieu Amalric as the depressed, unemployed new recruit; Guillaume Canet as an uptight factory manager; Jonathan Zaccaï as the dim but lovable one; Benoît Poelvoorde as the bordering-on-bankrupt salesman; and Jean-Hugues Anglade as an aging wannabe rock-star...once the gang hit Norway for the synchronised swimming championships..it’s hard not to grin.
Adam Fresco, Flicks. Co.NZ
« December 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 08

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 08

Tigers Are Not Afraid

Wed & Thu, Dec 4 & 5 / 9:15 pm
Sat, Dec 7 / 3 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun, Dec 8 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Wed, Dec 11 / 9:15 pm
Sun 08

Pain & Glory

Thu Dec 5 / 7 pm
Fri, Dec 6 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 7 / 5 pm & 7:15 pm
Sun, Dec 8 / 7 pm
Wed, Dec 11 / 7 pm
Thu, Dec 12 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 14 / 7 pm
Sun, Dec 15 / 2 pm
Tue 10

Restorations Tuesdays: My 20th Century

Tue, Dec 3 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 10 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 17 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 24 / 7 pm
Tue 10

Restoration Tuesdays: The Cremator

Tue, Dec 3 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 10 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 17 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 24 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact