Loading Events
Now Playing

French Film Festival: Daguerreotype (Le secret de la chambre noire)

Wed, Mar 22 / 7 pm
Directed by Kiyoshi Kurosawa
2016, France & Japan, 131 min
French with English subtitles

Unskilled Parisian Jean is surprised to be hired as the assistant to grieving photographer Stéphane. After falling in love with Marie, Stéphane’s daughter and muse, the two must hatch a plot to leave Stéphane’s haunted world behind them. From acclaimed master Kiyoshi Kurosawa (Cure, Pulse) this is a classic ghost story with a creepy modern twist.

1-logo-afm

Reviews

Whatever the opposite of jump-scare horror is, Kurosawa is a master of it. He specialises in what might be called the shadow-scare: rather than overwhelming his audience with sudden sensory barrages, he pares everything back, creating a haze of hyper-sensitised dread.
- Robbie Collin, The Telegraph
« May 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Wed 23

Loveless (Nelyubov)

Wed & Thu, May 23 & 24 / 7 pm
Sat, May 26 / 6 pm
Sun, May 27 / 3 pm
Wed, May 30 / 7 pm
Fri, Jun 1 / 7 pm
Wed, Jun 6 / 7 pm
Thu 24

The Young Karl Marx

Fri, May 18 / 9 pm
Sat, May 19 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, May 20 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Thu, May 24 / 9:30 pm
Fri, May 25 / 7 pm
Sat, May 26 / 3 pm
Fri 25

Star Robot: Back to the Markus

Fri, May 25 / 9:15 pm
Sat 26

Boom for Real: The Late Teenage Years of Jean-Michel Basquiat

Thu, May 17 / 9 pm
Sat, May 19 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sun, May 20 / 5:15 pm
Sat, May 26 / 9 pm
Sun, May 27 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, May 31 & Jun 1 / 9:15 pm
Mon 28

WIDC SHARING AUTHENTIC VOICES: The Confidence Continuum

Monday, May 28, 2018 | Winnipeg Cinematheque,100 Arthur St, Winnipeg, MB | 5:30 pm to 8:30 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact