Loading Events
Now Playing

French Film Festival: Daguerreotype (Le secret de la chambre noire)

Wed, Mar 22 / 7 pm
Directed by Kiyoshi Kurosawa
2016, France & Japan, 131 min
French with English subtitles

Unskilled Parisian Jean is surprised to be hired as the assistant to grieving photographer Stéphane. After falling in love with Marie, Stéphane’s daughter and muse, the two must hatch a plot to leave Stéphane’s haunted world behind them. From acclaimed master Kiyoshi Kurosawa (Cure, Pulse) this is a classic ghost story with a creepy modern twist.

1-logo-afm

Reviews

Whatever the opposite of jump-scare horror is, Kurosawa is a master of it. He specialises in what might be called the shadow-scare: rather than overwhelming his audience with sudden sensory barrages, he pares everything back, creating a haze of hyper-sensitised dread.
- Robbie Collin, The Telegraph
« Nov 2017 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
Fri 17

Architecture+Film: Columbus

Fri, Nov 17 / 7 pm
Fri 17

Faces Places (Visages, Villages)

Thu & Fri, Nov 16 & 17 / 9 pm
Sat, Nov 18 / 3 pm
Thu, Nov 23 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Nov 25 & 26 / 3 pm
Fri 17

Suspiria: 40th Anniversary 4K Restoration

Sat, Nov 11 / 9 pm
Fri, Nov 17 / 11 pm
Sat, Nov 18 / 9 pm
Fri, Nov 24 / 8:30 pm
Sat, Nov 25 / 11 pm
Sun, Nov 26 / 7 pm
Sat 18

Blue Screen//Green Screen shooting & editing!

Saturday November 18//12pm - 6pm
Sat 18

The Women’s Balcony

Sat & Sun, Nov 18 & 19 / 7 pm
Wed, Nov 22 / 7 pm
Thu, Nov 30 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 2 / 9 pm
Sun, Dec 3 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Dec 6 & 7 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 9 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact