Loading Events
Now Playing

French Film Festival: Daguerreotype (Le secret de la chambre noire)

Wed, Mar 22 / 7 pm
Directed by Kiyoshi Kurosawa
2016, France & Japan, 131 min
French with English subtitles

Unskilled Parisian Jean is surprised to be hired as the assistant to grieving photographer Stéphane. After falling in love with Marie, Stéphane’s daughter and muse, the two must hatch a plot to leave Stéphane’s haunted world behind them. From acclaimed master Kiyoshi Kurosawa (Cure, Pulse) this is a classic ghost story with a creepy modern twist.

1-logo-afm

Reviews

Whatever the opposite of jump-scare horror is, Kurosawa is a master of it. He specialises in what might be called the shadow-scare: rather than overwhelming his audience with sudden sensory barrages, he pares everything back, creating a haze of hyper-sensitised dread.
- Robbie Collin, The Telegraph
« Jan 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
Sat 20

Canada’s Top Ten Shorts: Part One

Sat, Jan 20 / 3 pm
FREE ADMISSION
Sat 20

The Square

Thu, Jan 18 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Jan 20 & 21 / 7 pm
Wed, Jan 24 / 7 pm
Thu, Jan 25 / 9:15 pm
Fri, Jan 26 / 9 pm
Sun, Jan 28 / 7 pm
Sat 20

Blue Velvet Revisited

Thu, Jan 4 / 9 pm
Fri & Sat, Jan 5 & 6 / 9:15 pm
Thu, Jan 11 / 9 pm
Sat, Jan 20 / 9:30 pm
Sun 21

Cabin Fever: Decolonizing Lens Short Films

Sun, Jan 21 / 2 pm
FREE ADMISSION
Sun 21

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story

Wed - Sun, Jan 10 - 14 / 7 pm
Wed, Jan 17 / 7 pm

EXTRA ADDED SHOWS:
Sat, Jan 20 / 1 pm
Sun, Jan 21 / 5 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact