Loading Events
Now Playing

French Film Festival: Amanda

Thu, Mar 7 / 7 pm
Directed by Mikhaël Hers
2018, France, 107 min
French with English subtitles

Modern-day Paris. Twenty-four-year-old David (Vincent Lacoste) lives in the moment. He juggles a variety of different odd jobs and continues to put off – just for a while longer – the time to make more serious decisions. But the relaxed pace of his life shifts gears when he suddenly must take charge of his seven-year-old niece, Amanda.


Alliance Française du Manitoba is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to teaching and promoting French and its diverse culture. For the 5th time, the Alliance Française’s French Film Festival, curated by Damien Ferland and Alan Nobili, will give Winnipeggers the opportunity to see a diverse selection of French feature-length movies.

Reviews

The devastation and loss caused by terrorist attacks in Paris, Nice and elsewhere form the starting point for this determinedly gentle French film... the performances are utterly heartfelt, honest and sympathetic....there is a great sincerity and warmth in this movie and something very candid and direct in the way David (Vincent Lacoste) and seven year old (Isaure Multrier) Amanda relate to each other on screen.
- Peter Bradshaw, The Guardian
« December 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 08

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 08

Tigers Are Not Afraid

Wed & Thu, Dec 4 & 5 / 9:15 pm
Sat, Dec 7 / 3 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun, Dec 8 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Wed, Dec 11 / 9:15 pm
Sun 08

Pain & Glory

Thu Dec 5 / 7 pm
Fri, Dec 6 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 7 / 5 pm & 7:15 pm
Sun, Dec 8 / 7 pm
Wed, Dec 11 / 7 pm
Thu, Dec 12 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 14 / 7 pm
Sun, Dec 15 / 2 pm
Tue 10

Restorations Tuesdays: My 20th Century

Tue, Dec 3 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 10 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 17 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 24 / 7 pm
Tue 10

Restoration Tuesdays: The Cremator

Tue, Dec 3 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 10 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 17 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 24 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact