Loading Events
Now Playing

French Film Festival: A Summer’s Tale (Conte d’été)

Sat, Mar 9 / 5 pm
Directed by Éric Rohmer
1996, France, 113 min
French with English subtitles

Gaspard (Melvil Poupaud) is a young, handsome, completely self-absorbed musician holidaying in Brittany. Awaiting the arrival of his not-quite girlfriend Léna — more a “habit of coincidence,” he clarifies — Gaspard begins courting the affections of sweet, smart, ethnology student Margot, and then Margot’s smitten friend.  Léna, of course, shows up, pushing the romancer to choose between his three surprise suitresses.


Alliance Française du Manitoba is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to teaching and promoting French and its diverse culture. For the 5th time, the Alliance Française’s French Film Festival, curated by Damien Ferland and Alan Nobili, will give Winnipeggers the opportunity to see a diverse selection of French feature-length movies.

Reviews

Originally released in 1996 in France (but never before in the U.S.), Eric Rohmer’s sun-kissed love quadrangle remains as fresh and romantically profound as it was 18 years ago.
- Chris Nashawaty, Entertainment Weekly
« December 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 08

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 08

Tigers Are Not Afraid

Wed & Thu, Dec 4 & 5 / 9:15 pm
Sat, Dec 7 / 3 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun, Dec 8 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Wed, Dec 11 / 9:15 pm
Sun 08

Pain & Glory

Thu Dec 5 / 7 pm
Fri, Dec 6 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 7 / 5 pm & 7:15 pm
Sun, Dec 8 / 7 pm
Wed, Dec 11 / 7 pm
Thu, Dec 12 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 14 / 7 pm
Sun, Dec 15 / 2 pm
Tue 10

Restorations Tuesdays: My 20th Century

Tue, Dec 3 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 10 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 17 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 24 / 7 pm
Tue 10

Restoration Tuesdays: The Cremator

Tue, Dec 3 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 10 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 17 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 24 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact