Loading Events
Now Playing

Frantz

Wed - Fri, Aug 2 - 4 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 5 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Aug 6 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 10 / 7 pm
Directed by François Ozon
2016, France, 113 min
French and German w/ English subtitles

Inspired by Ernst Lubitsch’s 1932 drama Broken Lullaby, this beautifully photographed mystery is set in a small town in Germany after World War I. A young girl named Anna mourns her fiancé, Frantz and visits his grave often. One day she discovers a Frenchman named Adrien laying flowers on the gravesite. He tells Anna that he and Frantz were friends while stationed in France during the war and reveals details of their time together. Cautious at first, Anna takes him home to visit her parents who slowly warm to him, eager to learn more about his friendship with Frantz. One day Adrien reveals a dark secret to Anna which changes everything.

Reviews

Astonishingly beautiful and inquisitive. It’s impossible to deny the sheer narrative sophistication.
- Eric Kohn, Indiewire
« Apr 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
Mon 23

Basic Filmmaking Class

March 20, 2018 - May 6, 2018
Mon 23

WIDC Short Works Award with Winnipeg Film Group – SUBMISSION DEADLINE EXTENDED APRIL 25, 2018

WFG Media Lab, Black Lodge & Artspace Boardroom | Friday May 18 - May 29
Mon 23

Screenwriting Mechanics with Melva McLean

Monday April 23 & Wednesday April 25 | 7pm - 10pm
Wed 25

Happy End

Wed, Apr 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 27 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 28 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Apr 29 / 3 pm & 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact