Loading Events
Now Playing

Frantz

Wed - Fri, Aug 2 - 4 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 5 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Aug 6 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 10 / 7 pm
Directed by François Ozon
2016, France, 113 min
French and German w/ English subtitles

Inspired by Ernst Lubitsch’s 1932 drama Broken Lullaby, this beautifully photographed mystery is set in a small town in Germany after World War I. A young girl named Anna mourns her fiancé, Frantz and visits his grave often. One day she discovers a Frenchman named Adrien laying flowers on the gravesite. He tells Anna that he and Frantz were friends while stationed in France during the war and reveals details of their time together. Cautious at first, Anna takes him home to visit her parents who slowly warm to him, eager to learn more about his friendship with Frantz. One day Adrien reveals a dark secret to Anna which changes everything.

Reviews

Astonishingly beautiful and inquisitive. It’s impossible to deny the sheer narrative sophistication.
- Eric Kohn, Indiewire
« Jan 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
Wed 24

The Square

Thu, Jan 18 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Jan 20 & 21 / 7 pm
Wed, Jan 24 / 7 pm
Thu, Jan 25 / 9:15 pm
Fri, Jan 26 / 9 pm
Sun, Jan 28 / 7 pm
Thu 25

Canada’s Top Ten: Allure

Thu, Jan 18 / 9:30 pm
Thu, Jan. 25 / 7 pm
Fri 26

Canada’s Top Ten: Our People Will Be Healed

Fri & Sat, Jan 26 & 27 / 7 pm
Sat 27

Canada’s Top Ten Shorts: Part Two

Sat, Jan 27 / 3 pm
FREE ADMISSION
Sat 27

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact