Loading Events
Now Playing

Fail to Appear

Thu & Fri, Sept 13 & 14 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 15 / 5 pm
Sun, Sept 16 / 3 pm
Directed by Antoine Bourges
2017, Canada, 70 min

In 2012 Antoine Bourges created an extraordinary short film called East Hastings Pharmacy in which he recreated the comings and goings at a small pharmacy located on one of Canada’s most difficult neighborhoods, Vancouver’s East Hastings. In his debut feature,  Deragh Campbell (Never Eat Alone) stars as Isolde, a support caseworker trainee working in Toronto. She’s still adjusting to the challenges of her job when she’s assigned to Eric (Nathan Roder), a man charged with theft and awaiting a court hearing. As Isolde prepares for the hearing, she finds herself struggling with the paucity of resources. Fail to Appear is a moving portrayal of those who quietly fall through the cracks in society and the few people trying to help them.

Reviews

Four stars. A very simple film that builds a surprising power and lingers long after you leave the theatre.
- Norman Wilner, NOW
A quiet gem that draws the viewer in from its opening frame...viewers will find it hard to shake.
- Marsha Lederman, Globe and Mail
« Nov 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
Wed 14

Shoot Some 16mm – A 16mm Film Workshop

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. Sept 8, 2018 - 10 AM - 2 PM
Shooting Days: Sept 10 - Oct 19, 2018
Processing Day: Sat. Oct 20 & Sun. Oct 21 - 10 AM - 2 PM
Editing: Oct 22 - Dec 5, 2017
Screening Date: TBD
Wed 14

2018 Fall Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

October 9, 2018 - November 25, 2018
Wed 14

Filmworker

Wed & Thu, Nov 7 & 8 / 7 pm
Fri, Nov 9 / 9 pm
Sat, Nov 10 / 5 pm
Sun , Nov 11 / 3 pm
Wed & Thu, Nov 14 & 15 / 7 pm
Thu 15
Thu 15

Madeline’s Madeline

Thu, Nov 8 / 9 pm
Sat, Nov 10 / 9 pm
Sun, Nov 11 / 7 pm
Thu, Nov 15 / 9 pm
Fri, Nov 16 / 7 pm
Sat, Nov 17 / 3 pm
Sun, Nov 18 / 3 pm & 5 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact