Loading Events

Expanded Cinema Performance Lab

Expanded Cinema Performance Lab

Monday 6pm - 10pm | Nov. 20, 27, Dec. 4, Jan. 8, 15, 22

Location: Black Lodge
Registration Fee: 100 - 120
Instructor: Aaron Zeghers

Monday 6pm – 10pm | Nov. 20, 27, Dec. 4, Jan. 8, 15, 22

Final performance in February (TBA) @ the Winnipeg Cinematheque

Toss off the shackles of single-screen, pre-recorded filmmaking and instead create your very own expanded cinema act to perform live at the Winnipeg Cinematheque!

Participants will explore analog, digital and hybrid methods of performing cinema live in the theatre, with studio visits (in person and via Skype) from some of the most highly regarded expanded cinéastes in North America!  Experiment with methods of multi-projection using 16mm, Super 8, overhead and digital projectors.  Workshop new ideas and methods of creating and modifying light and sound, creating temporal sculpture.

Course consists of six classes over the course of three months, culminating in a public presentation of the completed works at the Winnipeg Cinematheque!

« Nov 2017 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
Sun 19

A Ghost Story

Thu & Fri, Nov 9 & 10 / 9 pm
Sat & Sun, Nov 11 & 12 / 7 pm
Sun, Nov 19 / 3 pm
Sun 19

The Women’s Balcony

Sat & Sun, Nov 18 & 19 / 7 pm
Wed, Nov 22 / 7 pm
Thu, Nov 30 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 2 / 9 pm
Sun, Dec 3 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Dec 6 & 7 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 9 / 9 pm
Mon 20

Expanded Cinema Performance Lab

Monday 6pm - 10pm | Nov. 20, 27, Dec. 4, Jan. 8, 15, 22
Thu 23

Faces Places (Visages, Villages)

Thu & Fri, Nov 16 & 17 / 9 pm
Sat, Nov 18 / 3 pm
Thu, Nov 23 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Nov 25 & 26 / 3 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact