Loading Events
Now Playing

El Toro

Sat & Sun, Feb 9 & 10 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Feb 13 & 14 / 9 pm
Sat, Feb 16 / 3 pm
Directed by Danielle Sturk
2018, Canada, 43 min

Introduction by director Danielle Sturk on February 9th, 10th, 13th & 14th.

Following two sold out screenings at the Gimme Some Truth Documentary Festival, El Toro returns for five screenings. Working with some outstanding Winnipeg artists including Freya Olafson, Brian Rougeau, Diana Thorneycroft, Peter Graham, Rhayne Vermette, Gabriel Levesque, Stephanein Boulet, and Dany Joyal: Daneille Sturk has crafted a wonderful documentary history of a family-run St. Boniface truck stop diner called El Toro located between Canada Packers and the Union Stockyards in the 1960s and 70s. The film El Toro rebuilds the walls, stools, and atmosphere of the restaurant, recreating a surreal, rich, and imaginative world, evoking a lost time and place through the lens of memory, nostalgia and love.

Plays with: The Price of Daily Bread / Directed by John Paskievich & Mike Mirus, 1985, Canada, 16 min / Anthony Nahuliak, his wife and daughter, must sell their farm equipment, house, and land to pay the bank.

Reviews

Sturk has crafted a truly wondrous and whimsical mixed-media collage film tribute to her family’s dearly departed diner in the bowels of old industrial Saint-Boniface. ...a sure delight to any fans of not only documentary film, but art in general.
— David Knipe, Gimme Some Truth Festival 2018
« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Mon 22

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Mon 22

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Sun 21

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm
Fri 26

Canada’s Top Ten: Giant Little Ones

Fri, Apr 26 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, April 27 & 28 / 5 pm & 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact