Loading Events
Now Playing

Echo in the Canyon

Sun, Sept 1 / 5 pm
Wed, Sept 4 / 7 pm
Thu, Sept 5 / 9:30 pm
Fri, Sept 6 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 7 / 5 pm
Sun, Sept 8 / 5 pm
Thu, Sept 12 / 9 pm
Directed by Andrew Slater
2019, USA, 82 min

Echo in the Canyon revisits the most influential music of the mid-60s from The Byrds, The Beach Boys, Buffalo Springfield, and The Mamas and the Papas, and shows how these iconic bands were all influenced by the Beatles and then went on to influence the Beatles themselves. There was a moment in Laurel Canyon when being part of a great band was the most significant thing you could do as an artist, a pure moment before these artists began to go solo in the 70s. The canyon was jammed with unparalleled creativity and collaboration, inspiring these neighbors to create some of the most influential music in history. Featured interviews include Michelle Phillips, Tom Petty, Roger McGuinn, Jackson Browne, John Sebastian, Jakob Dylan, and Beck.

Reviews

A richly evocative and entertainingly anecdotal overview of the 1960s Laurel Canyon music scene and its influence on contemporary artists.
- Variety
Rich with revealing observations and engaging anecdotes, Slater’s documentary skirts the nostalgia trap by engagingly connecting with an impressive lineup of contemporary singer-songwriters…
- Hollywood Reporter
« February 2020 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
1
Tue 25

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Tue 25

Restoration Tuesdays: Daguerréotypes

Tue, Feb 4 / 3 pm
Tue, Feb 11 / 7 pm
Tue, Feb 18 / 9 pm
Tue, Feb 25 / 3 pm
Sat, Feb 29 / 5 pm
Wed 26

Restoration Tuesdays: The Gleaners and I

Tue, Feb 4 / 9 pm
Tue, Feb 11 / 3 pm
Tue, Feb 25 / 7 pm & 9 pm
Sat, Feb 29 / 7 pm
Thu 27

CICFF: All Star Local Night

Wed, Feb 26 / 7 pm
Thu 27

CICFF: The Twentieth Century

Wed, Feb 26 / 9 pm
ADDED SCREENINGS:
Sun, Mar 1 / 3 pm & 5 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact