Loading Events

Echo in the Canyon

Sun, Sept 1 / 5 pm
Wed, Sept 4 / 7 pm
Thu, Sept 5 / 9:30 pm
Fri, Sept 6 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 7 / 5 pm
Sun, Sept 8 / 5 pm
Thu, Sept 12 / 9 pm
Directed by Andrew Slater
2019, USA, 82 min

Echo in the Canyon revisits the most influential music of the mid-60s from The Byrds, The Beach Boys, Buffalo Springfield, and The Mamas and the Papas, and shows how these iconic bands were all influenced by the Beatles and then went on to influence the Beatles themselves. There was a moment in Laurel Canyon when being part of a great band was the most significant thing you could do as an artist, a pure moment before these artists began to go solo in the 70s. The canyon was jammed with unparalleled creativity and collaboration, inspiring these neighbors to create some of the most influential music in history. Featured interviews include Michelle Phillips, Tom Petty, Roger McGuinn, Jackson Browne, John Sebastian, Jakob Dylan, and Beck.

Reviews

A richly evocative and entertainingly anecdotal overview of the 1960s Laurel Canyon music scene and its influence on contemporary artists.
- Variety
Rich with revealing observations and engaging anecdotes, Slater’s documentary skirts the nostalgia trap by engagingly connecting with an impressive lineup of contemporary singer-songwriters…
- Hollywood Reporter
« August 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
Fri 23

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Fri 23

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Fri 23

2019 WFG Summer Teen Filmmaking Camp

Session 2: Mon Aug 12 to Fri Aug 23 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge
Thu 22

Gimme Some Truth presents: Shella Record – A Reggae Mystery

Wed, Aug 21 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 22 / 9:30 pm
Fri, Aug 23 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 24 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Aug 25 / 7 pm
Wed, Aug 28 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 31 / 9 pm
Fri 23

Meeting Gorbachev

Fri, Aug 23 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 24 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Aug 25 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Wed, Aug 28 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Aug 29 & 30 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 31 / 5 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact