Loading Events
Now Playing

Echo in the Canyon

Sun, Sept 1 / 5 pm
Wed, Sept 4 / 7 pm
Thu, Sept 5 / 9:30 pm
Fri, Sept 6 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 7 / 5 pm
Sun, Sept 8 / 5 pm
Thu, Sept 12 / 9 pm
Directed by Andrew Slater
2019, USA, 82 min

Echo in the Canyon revisits the most influential music of the mid-60s from The Byrds, The Beach Boys, Buffalo Springfield, and The Mamas and the Papas, and shows how these iconic bands were all influenced by the Beatles and then went on to influence the Beatles themselves. There was a moment in Laurel Canyon when being part of a great band was the most significant thing you could do as an artist, a pure moment before these artists began to go solo in the 70s. The canyon was jammed with unparalleled creativity and collaboration, inspiring these neighbors to create some of the most influential music in history. Featured interviews include Michelle Phillips, Tom Petty, Roger McGuinn, Jackson Browne, John Sebastian, Jakob Dylan, and Beck.

Reviews

A richly evocative and entertainingly anecdotal overview of the 1960s Laurel Canyon music scene and its influence on contemporary artists.
- Variety
Rich with revealing observations and engaging anecdotes, Slater’s documentary skirts the nostalgia trap by engagingly connecting with an impressive lineup of contemporary singer-songwriters…
- Hollywood Reporter
« October 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Fri 18

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Fri 18

Restless River

*Skype Interview with director Marie-Helene Cousineau and
actress Malaya Qaunirq Chapman to follow the Sunday 2 pm screening

Sat, Oct 12 / 7 pm
*Sun, Oct 13 / 2 pm
Thu, Oct 17 / 9 pm
Fri, Oct 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Oct 19 / 9:30 pm
Fri 18

Aurora Gorealis: Happy Birthday to Me

Wed, Oct 9 / 7 pm
Fri, Oct 18 / 9 pm
Sat 19

Buddy

Sat, Oct 19 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Oct 20 / 5 pm
Fri, Oct 25 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Oct 26 & 27 / 5 pm
Wed & Thu, Oct 30 & 31 / 7 pm
Sat 19

Cream of the Crap VII: Rock ‘n’ Roll Nightmare

Sat, Oct 19 / 6 pm (VHS Swap), 7 pm (Screening)
Black Lodge Studio (Suite 304, Artspace Building)
Admission by Donation

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact