Loading Events
Now Playing

Drunk Feminist Films

Sat, Sept 30 / 9 pm
Free Admission

Toronto-based group Drunk Feminist Films brings feminists together to dissect their problematic Hollywood favourites with a drink in hand (alcoholic or otherwise) to mock the gender stereotyping they see at work in Hollywood filmmaking. They host regular sold out public screenings as well as webisodes and other online content with outlets including CBC and VICE. As their mandate goes, “At Drunk Feminist Films, we would rather laugh than cry our way through Hollywood representations of gender, race, sexuality, class and other aspects of identity.” Drunk Feminist Films produces lighthearted events and media that use cocktail-fuelled feminist commentary to tease apart the tropes of mainstream movies. Seeing as how they are based in Toronto the group has prepared a special video introduction for the Winnipeg screening which compiles some of their funniest episodes and sharply satirical analyses. Featuring much laughter and clips from The Bodyguard, Crossroads, Save the Last Dance, Gone Girl, Love Actually, A League of their Own, Twilight and Burlesque!

Plays With:

Snapperdoodle / Directed by Arlea Ashcroft & Andrea Von Wichert, 2007, Canada, 4 min / A woman paints with her vagina to please the art hungry masses that crowd her gallery and her life.

Generously Sponsored by Mentoring Artists for Women’s Art and On Screen Manitoba. Coinciding with Culture Days, Nuit Blanche Winnipeg is an all night exploration and celebration of contemporary art. These events are free to the public and encourage and celebrate arts and culture in our community.

                

 

« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 21

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 21

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Sun 21

The Woman Who Loves Giraffes

Sat, Apr 6 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Apr 7 / 3 pm
Fri, Apr 12 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 13 & 14 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun 21

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact