Loading Events
Now Playing

Decasia

Fri, Mar 22 / 7 pm
Sat, Mar 23 / 3 pm
Directed by Bill Morrison
2002, USA, 70 min

Often compared to Stan Brakhage, filmmaker Bill Morrison created Decasia entirely from decaying old found footage, melded to the music of Bang on a Can’s Michael Gordon performed by the 55 piece Basel Sinfonietta. The result is a mesmerizing film of deteriorating film stock and a moving avant garde masterpiece.

Sponsored by Groundswell.

Reviews

A stunningly beautiful ode to creation and decay.
- Sundance Film Festival
« August 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
Sun 18

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 18

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Sun 18

2019 WFG Summer Teen Filmmaking Camp

Session 2: Mon Aug 12 to Fri Aug 23 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge
Sun 18

Be Natural: The Untold Story of Alice Guy-Blaché

Wed, Aug 14 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Aug 15 & 16 / 9:15 pm
Sat, Aug 17 / 5 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun Aug 18 / 3 pm
Wed, Aug 21 / 9 pm
Sun 18

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact