Loading Events
Now Playing

Compartment Number 6

Fri, Feb 18 / 7pm
Sat, Feb 19 / 3pm & 9:10pm
Sun, Feb 20 / 5:40pm
Wed, Feb 23 / 7pm
Thu, Feb 24 / 9:25pm
Sat, Feb 26 / 4:30 & 9:25pm
Sun, Feb 27 / 6:10pm
Wed, Mar 2 / 7pm
Directed by Juho Kuosmanen
2021, Finland, 107 min
Finnish & Russian w/ English subtitles

Laura (Seidi Haarla), a Finnish archaeologist, is excited to be taking the multi-day train journey from Moscow to Murmansk in the far north, not only to view its petroglyphs, but to share the experience with her Russian girlfriend, Irina (Dinara Drukarova). But Irina calls it off, so instead Laura finds herself sharing her sleeper compartment with a vodka-swilling skinhead, Ljoha (Yuriy Borisov), a boorish young man whose reach far exceeds his charm. The conductor is equally unsympathetic and there are no alternate berths, so Laura’s in for a long haul. Yet as the stations click by, the pair forge an uneasy truce, and even begin to trust. – VIFF

Reviews

shares the buzz of personal re-awakening without ever feeling obvious or cheap. It turns out to be a beacon of warmth amid a frozen wasteland.
- Dave Calhoun, Time Out
Kuosmanen has a gift for the understated. His images, even at their most minimal, teem with so much: hushed feelings that reject precision, emotions that crackle with illogical circuitry.
- Annie Geng, Screen Slate
It makes for a take on the love story as fresh, resonant and honest... as you'll find in a contemporary film.
- Robert Abele, Los Angeles Times
« May 2022 » loading...
M T W T F S S
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
Wed 25

Nitram

Available to rent for $5.99
May 6 - June 19
Thu 26

Kamikaze Hearts

Fri, May 20 / 7pm
Sat, May 21 / 9:30pm
Wed, May 25 / 7pm
Thu, May 26 / 7pm
Thu 26

Lux Aeterna

Thu, May 19 / 7pm
Sat, May 21 / 5pm
Sun, May 22 / 3pm
Wed, May 25 / 9pm
Fri 27

Vortex

Thu, May 19 / 8:30pm
Fri, May 20 / 9:45pm
Sat, May 21 / 2pm & 6:30pm
Sun, May 22 / 4:30pm & 7:30pm
Thu, May 26 / 9pm
Fri 27

Winnipeg Underground Film Festival

Friday to Sunday, May 27 - 29

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact